Miwako Okuda – Aozora no Hate

August 17, 2006 at 5:27 PM | Posted in Miwako Okuda | 1 Comment
Tags:

Tracklisting
1. Aozora no Hate (青空の果て)
2. Buranko ni Yurete (ブランコに揺れて)
3. Aozora no Hate (Instrumental)

This is Miwako Okuda’s 3rd single and it was released on November 3, 2003. The single reached #14 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 69,505 copies. The title track was used as the theme song to the drama Yankee Bokou ni Kaeru.

Miwako Okuda first appeared in the Japanese music scene in 2000 under the DefSTAR label with the single Shizuku which was used in the anime GTO. A couple of months after that, she released her second single tsu-ki and disappeared from the music industry for more than 3 years. The tracks on these 2 singles were pure pop songs.

Aozora no Hate is a mid-paced rock song (that has some awesome guitar riffs) with some of the most emotional lyrics ever. The lyrics depict a girl wanting to commit suicide (by jumping off the roof of a school) after being rejected by a guy and they’re VERY descriptive: The truth is, I wanted to stop breathing because my whereabouts are nowhere and Under that sky is the 16 year old me, who you deserted.

The B-side, Buranko ni Yurete, is an acoustic guitar ballad. The lyrics are descriptive and not to mention blunt and to the point. Here are some samples: I slit my wrists with the razor blade I had in my pocket while swaying on the swing and Am I alive? Am I dead? Do I want to live? Do I want to die?

Okuda has always stood out among the other artists that I listen to because of the dark lyrics of her songs and her music does have a genuine rock sound as well. Stay tuned for more reviews on this artist.

Overall Rating

4 stars

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I dont know if you noticed, but in Buranko ni yurete there is sound of dripping, do you think that is the related to the whole “Slitting her wrists” line?


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

