K – Music in My Life

January 2, 2007 at 9:57 PM | Posted in K | Leave a comment
Tags:


The cover of the CD+DVD edition

Music in My Life is K’s 2nd Japanese album and it was released on December 13, 2006. The album reached #25 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 12,864 copies.

♦ ♦ ♦

The opening song on the album is the hot acoustic guitar track Music in My Life. K shows a new side of himself that I have never seen before and I absolutely love it. The acoustic guitar dominates this song and I think this the first time the instrument is an essential part of it. K’s English vocals are awesome as well.

The next track is the holiday love ballad First Christmas. This was the best holiday themed J-pop song of 2006 in my opinion. Its placement on the album is kind of weird though.

Track 3 is a slow and mellow R&B song featuring Kaoru Kurosawa of the the famous acapella group The Gospellers. Again features an absolutely catchy beat and chorus. Kurosawa doesn’t start singing until the middle of the song, but when he and K’s voices start to blend together, it’s pure magic.

I was pleasantly surprised to see a full version of Together Again, the B-side on the Only Human single, on this album. The new album version adds even more to the original, which makes it better.

Track 5 is definitely the most upbeat song on the album. Brand New Map is a very cheerful and happy song. It’s one of my personal favorite songs from K and it always cheers me up now.

The next track hit me like a ton of bricks when I first heard it. Thirsty mixes dance and club beats with excellent vocals from K. I’m not afraid to call this song sexy, BECAUSE IT IS. =O

Track 7 is another upbeat song, but this time it is more brass driven. Last Love is pretty relaxing too.

Track 8 marks a turning point in the album because this is when things start to slow down, but not to the point where they are boring. Stay Right Here is a soulful R&B influenced song with slower paced vocals.

The same goes for track 9, Asa no Hikari, Kaze no Nioi. However, I could definitely sense some blues and jazz undertones.

Track 10 is the bittersweet ballad The Day. Since this was his first single after the release of Beyond the Sea, it still has some of the depressing piano chords and sad lyrics of his previous singles.

The last 2 songs on the album didn’t really do anything for me like the previous ones, but they work well as ending album tracks. Blue and Hoshi no Omoi are both upbeat, the latter track being a little slower but featuring a more progressive beat.

This album is quite different from his debut album Beyond the Sea in many ways, but the biggest difference is the overall mood, which is light-hearted and almost bittersweet. In my opinion, Music in My Life was a step up. It contains a lot more upbeat tracks and the songs are brillantly crafted (tracks 1, 3, and 6 being my favorite of the new songs). It’s good to see K experiment with different genres of music, and making more R&B and soul influenced tracks. Don’t get me wrong, I loved the ballads of his first album, but this is an excellent departure.

Overall Rating

5 stars

Tracklisting

1. Music in My Life
2. First Christmas (ファースト・クリスマス)
3. Again feat. Kaoru Kurosawa (Gospellers) (Again feat. 黒沢 薫 (ゴスペラーズ))
4. Together Forever ~album version~
5. Brand New Map
6. Thirsty
7. Last Love
8. Stay Right Here
9. Asa no Hikari, Kaze no Nioi (朝の光、風の匂い)
10. The Day
11. Blue
12. Hoshi no Omoi (星の想い)

Note: My favorite tracks are highlighted in blue!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

