Yuna Ito – I’m Here

March 28, 2007 at 2:02 PM | Posted in Yuna Ito | 2 Comments
Tags:

Tracklisting
1. I’m Here
2. Reason Why
3. Faith -Teardance Remix-
4. I’m Here -Instrumental-

This is Yuna Ito’s 7th single and it was released on March 14, 2007. The single reached #15 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 36,634 copies. The title track was used as theme song for the movie version of the drama UNFAIR and the B-side was an insert song.

I’m Here is Yuna Ito’s most aggressive song to date but it is also her worst. There were so many things that turned me off from the song but the biggest problem I experienced were the vocals. Ito is pretty much yelling the entire chorus and I guess that she’s trying to do something new with her voice, but it’s obviously not working. The synthetic string arrangement and overall sound of the song is annoying as well. I absolutely know that Ito can do better with these kinds of songs and since this is the first single released after her debut album HEART (which was bad too), I really thought she was going to redeem herself.

The B-side, Reason Why, is just as bad, but it’s in English. The lyrics make no sense and Ito is yelling the chorus AGAIN. This song relies more on synth than I’m Here does and it sounds a lot better, especially with the ending bass beats.

The 3rd track is the Teardance Remix of Faith, Ito’s 2nd single. This remix just destroys the original (just like what the remix of ENDLESS STORY did on the Truth single) because let’s face it, most ballads don’t sound good at all when you try to remix them. All the synthetic sounds of this remix just make everything sound worse.

Overall Rating

2 stars

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Unfortunately,I didn’t agree with your review.
    I think that I’m Here is her best single ever.
    But that’s solely my own opinion.
    You write great reviews though :)

  2. same here, i don’t really agree with you, i love the song Im here, i think its a really nice song. One of her best songs.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

