YUI – CAN’T BUY MY LOVE

April 21, 2007 at 8:24 PM | Posted in YUI | Leave a comment
Tags:


The cover of the CD only edition

CAN’T BUY MY LOVE is YUI’s 2nd album and it was released on April 4, 2007. The album reached #1 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 693,358 copies.

♦ ♦ ♦

The opening track, How crazy, starts off quietly but gradually speeds up to the catchy chorus. I especially liked the bridge because of the speedy vocals. Just like the first track from her debut album FROM ME TO YOU, it doesn’t disappoint.

I have expressed my dislike for Rolling star before but I think I’m having a change of heart. The song feels right at home on the album because of its fast paced riffs and more rock oriented sound. Many of the new tracks sound similar to this song so it all works out great.

I really liked the next track, It’s all right. It’s calm but still has a nice alternative sound with gentle acoustics and electric guitar. The chorus is a treat and so are YUI’s vocals.

Track 4 is I remember you, a personal favorite of mine. The underlying string arrangement is one of my favorite aspects of the song and the somber lyrics are a plus too.

The next track is not exactly a song, but an interlude. RUIDO is only 51 seconds long but those 51 seconds are action packed and full of energy. It’s a shame this is not a full song because I love it even though it feels extremely out of place. I guess you could say it only acts as a break between I remember you and CHE.R.RY. On a side note, ‘ruido’ is Spanish for ‘noise’.

I absolutely adore CHE.R.RY. It’s fun, charming, and very catchy. The verses are still a little strange but the chorus more than well makes up for it.

Track 6 is song about YUI’s teen years. Thank you My teens is a heart-warming song but a short one at just under 3 minutes.

YUI adds some interesting Spanish rhythms to the next track, Umbrella. It’s different from her other works because of its ethnic sound and I applaud YUI for this track because it shows that she can add some much needed flair to her songs.

I liked the breezy beginning of Highway chance, but it quickly transforms into an edgy song with catchy percussion and strong guitar riffs. This track is one of YUI’s more alternative works.

Track 10, Happy birthday to you you, is another upbeat song but with some funny English vocals from YUI. Her pronounciation of the word ‘birthday’ is a little off and I don’t know why that extra ‘you’ is added but if you ignore those things, this song is pretty good.

I thought the next track wasn’t extremely special. Winding road has a great chorus but I found the rest of the song to be just average.

Ah, Good-bye days, the song that put YUI in the spotlight and established herself as a force to be reckoned with in the J-pop industry. What can I say? This is a gorgeous song that’s filled with emotion. In my opinion, she gives her best vocal performance in this song.

The final track is Why?, a wonderful song to end the album. The chorus is my favorite part of the song because it has a nice, uplifting atmosphere.

I definitely enjoyed CAN’T BUY MY LOVE more than YUI’s debut album FROM ME TO YOU. The main reason is because it contains more enjoyable, upbeat tracks. There is only one major gripe I have about the album: it is SHORT. A majority of the songs are less than 4 minutes long but in the long run, the quality of the song is all that matters to me. This is an excellent album and an improvement over her previous one.

Overall Rating

4 stars

Tracklisting

1. How crazy
2. Rolling star
3. It’s all right
4. I remember you
5. RUIDO
6. CHE.R.RY
7. Thank you My teens
8. Umbrella
9. Highway chance
10. Happy birthday to you you
11. Winding road
12. Good-bye days
13. Why?

Note: My favorite tracks are highlighted in blue!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

