Tommy heavenly6 – Heavy Starry Heavenly

June 26, 2007 at 10:25 PM | Posted in Tommy heavenly6 | Leave a comment
Tags:


The cover of the CD only edition

Heavy Starry Heavenly is Tomoko Kawase’s 2nd album as Tommy heavenly6 and it was released on March 7, 2007. The album reached #9 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 33,527 copies.

♦ ♦ ♦

It was a good idea to open the album with Heavy Starry Chain, her most recent single. It’s a furious song that sets the overall tone of this album.

The first of only FOUR new songs on the album is stay away from me, which happens to be my favorite of them. The English lyrics are a little silly, but this Tommy we are talking about. The lines Alright baby! Stay away from me! and I hate you just add to the song’s humor.

Even though it’s one of the oldest songs on the album, I’m Gonna SCREAM+ is still incredibly good. I love the screeching riffs and aggressive vocals from heavenly6.

The title of the next track initially startled me at first but it’s another well done rock number. my bloody knee-high-socks also features English lyrics during the chorus: The twisting moon shines on my bloody knee-high-socks. No way! It’s not funny!.

The next new track before a slew of older ones is a song about ‘not being stepped on’ and taking charge of your life. DOOR MAT sounds a little bit more punkish while also being laid back compared to the past songs.

It was great to see a new version of Lollipop Candy♥BAD♥girl. The album version removes ALL of the Halloween elements that appeared on previous versions of the song. All you get are the rock portions all together in a neat package and it fits into the album perfectly.

THE CASE is the first of count it, FIVE consecutive old songs that have appeared on previous releases. As much as I like this short and sweet song, it shouldn’t have been on the album. This song was the B-side on the IXMAS single.

The next track I was treated to was ABOUT U, an excellent song that is laid back and features a catchy chorus. This song was the B-side on the Pray single.

I♥XMAS is one of the more aggressive songs on the album. This is a loud song in general but it happens to be one of my favorite Tommy heavenly6 songs ever. Even though this is a song about Christmas, the music suggests otherwise.

I still think that Pray isn’t as good as Tommy’s other singles, but it’s still a good addition to the album. I would rate it as only above average.

GOING 2 MY WAY! is one of her best B-sides and I was really glad it was on the album. It’s edgy, features a unique bass arrangement, and an awesome thumping effect during the bridge. This song was the B-side on the I’m Gonna SCREAM+ single.

We FINALLY get a new song and it ends the album pretty well. Lucky me is very fast paced but what really stood out for me were the lyrics. She sings about farewells as well as remembering the past. I have a very strong feeling that this album will be her last release as a solo artist because of this song (she is also reuniting with the brilliant green so maybe it’s not far from the truth).

Heavy Starry Heavenly is a solid album but there were two faults that I found within it. The first fault was the lack of the new tracks and the second was that many of the songs sounded too similar to each other. Much like BoA’s album OUTGROW, there were too many B-sides and even though I pretty much liked every song on the album and it didn’t have the variety that her first Tommy heavenly6 album had. However, I enjoyed this album despite its shortcomings.

Overall Rating

4 stars

Tracklisting

1. Heavy Starry Chain
2. Stay away from me
3. I’m Gonna SCREAM+
4. my bloody knee-high-socks
5. DOOR MAT
6. Lollipop Candy♥BAD♥girl [album version]
7. THE CASE
8. ABOUT U
9. I♥XMAS
10. Pray
11. GOING 2 MY WAY!
12. Lucky me

Note: My favorite tracks are highlighted in blue!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

