BONNIE PINK – Thinking Out Loud

August 13, 2007 at 12:57 AM | Posted in BONNIE PINK | 4 Comments
Tags:

Thinking Out Loud is BONNIE PINK’s 9th studio album and it was released on July 25, 2007. The album reached #5 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 97,918 copies.

♦ ♦ ♦

I thought Gimme A Beat was a fantastic way to open the album. It’s an incredibly catchy and upbeat song that opens the album with a bang. This song was originally the B-side on the Water Me single.

I loved the atmosphere that the next track creates. Broken hearts, city lights, and me just thinking out loud opens with the ambient sound of a busy city crowd and brilliantly flows into a percussion intro with BONNIE PINK’s vocals right after. The jazzy electric guitar chords in the song are excellent and reminded of the songs from the beginning of her career.

The opening synth of track 3, Burning Inside, reminded me of the songs of her last album Golden Tears but some electric guitar comes in a little bit latter. Just like many of the songs on this album, it’s very catchy.

Unfortunately, Nagusami Blue is my least favorite song on the album (but that’s not saying much). I had no problem with the music but actually BONNIE PINK’s vocals. The chorus has a part where she sings blue, blue, atari wa blue and I didn’t like it all because it seemed that she was really straining her voice. During this part, she is also singing at a higher pitch than what she normally does. However, the music more than makes up for it because I thought the constant percussion beats were awesome and the piano solo during the bridge was beautiful.

When I first heard the next track, I instantly thought of the song Surprise! (her 2nd single back in 1996) because it shared many of the same elements. Imagination features BONNIE PINK singing at a lower pitch and furious, edgy electric guitar riffs. This song is also the first of only 2 English tracks on the album.

Track 6 was definitely the biggest surprise on the album. The new version of A Perfect Sky totally blew me away. The ‘philharmonic flava’ in the title actually means that this is an ORCHESTRAL version of the song. Instead of the fast paced synth of the original, the song opens with a dramatic string section. As the song progresses, elements of the original version begin to come in little by little until it actually becomes the original. At this point I was completely stunned. Finally, towards the end, the strings reappear and blend in with the original’s pop synth arrangement. This is by far one of the best album remixes I have ever heard.

Track 7 is the soothing Lullaby. This is a gentle song with a nice percussion beat that eventually progresses into the explosive chorus. The song still maintains that gentle atmosphere despite all the band instruments.

This album just keeps getting better and better and the next track doesn’t disappoint. Sakamichi is a fast paced song with quick riffs and percussion. This is probably the most rhythemic song on the album because it keeps the same pace throughout the entire song and it never lets up.

There is one thing I have to say about Water Me: AMAZING. Everything about the song gives me goosebumps because it excels in musical arrangement, lyrics, and overall vocals. The mix of piano and strings really add to the haunting and almost depressing atmosphere of the song. The electric guitar solo during the bridge was a nice touch as well.

Catch The Sun is my favorite of the album’s new tracks because it so damn cute. The clapping rhythm in the song is infectious and background vocals that sing catch the sun are very catchy. Overall, this a very friendly song that is easy to get into.

The other English song on the album is Chances Are. The lyrics are very thoughtful and along with the strings in the background, the song is gorgeous. It’s a shame it’s under 3 minutes making it the album’s shortest song.

I really liked the fact that the album ends on a positive note with Anything For You. Even though it’s my least favorite of the album’s previously released tracks, it closes the album quite well, especially with the song’s ending synth.

What I liked the most about Thinking Out Loud is that mixes the old with the new. Many of the new album tracks are reminiscent of her earlier ‘rock’ style (Broken hearts, city lights, and me just thinking out loudImaginationSakamichi)  while the others showcase her more modern sound (Gimme A Beat, Burning Inside, Anything For You). Every song is brilliantly and carefully crafted and I was amazed at each song’s production value. Everything is top notch and I enjoyed this album more than her previous one (the almost as good Golden Tears). I totally recommend this album because it appeals to both sides of her fanbase. Veteran fans will enjoy the return of the older rock sound and newer fans will like the more modern songs that they are more familiar with.

Overall Rating

5 stars

Tracklisting

1. Gimme A Beat
2. Broken hearts, city lights, and me just thinking out loud
3. Burning Inside
4. Nagusami Blue (慰みブルー)
5. Imagination
6. A Perfect Sky (Philharmonic Flava)
7. Lullaby
8. Sakamichi (坂道)
9. Water Me
10. Catch The Sun
11. Chances Are
12. Anything For You

Note: My favorite tracks are highlighted in blue!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Good post! We will be linking to this particularly great content on our site.
    Keep up the great writing.

  2. It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read
    this post and if I could I want to suggest you few interesting things or advice.
    Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article.

    I wish to read even more things about it!

  3. My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different web address and thought I may
    as well check things out. I like what I see so
    i am just following you. Look forward to looking at your web page yet again.

  4. I do not even know the way I ended up right here, however I thought this
    put up used to be good. I don’t realize who you’re but definitely you’re going to a well-known blogger if you happen to are not already. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

