Maki Goto – Glass no Pumps

April 21, 2008 at 3:48 PM | Posted in Maki Goto | 6 Comments
Tags:

Tracklisting
1. Glass no Pumps (ガラスのパンプス)
2. LOVE Kan Coffee (LOVE缶コーヒー)
3. Glass no Pumps (Instrumental)

This is Maki Goto’s 15th single and it was released on June 21, 2006. The single reached #7 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 27,907 copies.

The first of the How to use SEXY singles, Glass no Pumps incorporates a retro sound with its furious use of old fashioned synth and peppy dance beats. What I liked the most about the song was the catchy chorus which has simple English lyrics like Dance with me baby baby and I love you, hold me hold me next to a fast rhythm. Maki Goto’s vocals sound really good here and she does give an almost tantalizing performance.

The B-side, LOVE Kan Coffee, is a total mess. The music felt sloppy especially during the chorus when it’s just synth, synth, and more synth piled on top of one another. While Goto’s vocals are okay, she can’t seem to keep up with the chaotic arrangement. Thank goodness it’s only B-side and it should stay that way since it doesn’t compare to Glass no Pumps at all. Most Hello!Project singles follow this formula: GOOD A-side; BAD B-side.

Overall Rating 

3½ stars

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I thought GLASS no PUMPS was a funny single… especially the title… lol…

    Patrick

  2. ^ Well, if you want to be uber-technical, it’s ~really~ GURASU no PANPUSU. ;D

  3. I havnt heard the b-side but Glass no Pumps is a good song, though the pv was a little bit ummmmm raunchy lol. She does sound good though

  4. I actually thought the opposite. To me, “Glass no Pumps” was catchy but unoriginal, while “Love KAN Coffee” had a sophisticated techno-lounge sound. But to each their own!

  5. I’d have to pretty much agree with the comment above~ Glass no Pumps had it’s moments, but was pretty unoriginal. It sounded like something that had been done before. Love Kan Coffee though, sounded like nothing from H!P I’d ever heard before and I felt it was a lot stronger than Glass no Pumps. Kinda funky and … groovy I guess XD;

  6. Well, most b-sides are b-sides for a reason…a lot of the ones I’ve heard from H!P are pretty good tho, but I like oddball songs. Most are mediocre more than bad.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

