Tomiko Van – Tokyo Biyori

July 6, 2008 at 4:16 PM | Posted in Tomiko Van | 10 Comments
Tags:

Tracklisting
1. Tokyo Biyori (東京日和)
2. message.
3. Hum a Tune
4. Tokyo Biyori (Instrumental)
5. message. (Instrumental)

This is Tomiko Van’s 4th single and it was released on June 18, 2008. The single reached #18 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 5,219 copies.

Since this was her first single since November 2006’s Yumeji, I guess I was expecting more out of Tokyo Biyori. I had to admit that Tomiko Van’s music was getting a little stale after 2 sub-par cover albums and she was long overdue for a new single. Anyways, Tokyo Biyori is a calm and pleasant song that’s also quite assertive with its use of the acoustic guitar and drums. The underlying strings also give the music a sad, longing atmosphere. Despite all of this, as an A-side, it’s pretty weak compared to the likes of her first 3 singles Flower, Senkou, and Yumeji. Those songs were REALLY good but this one was just…okay.

I would have to say the same about the B-sides too. message. is Van’s first musical composition and a more aggressive song than Tokyo Biyori. With the fast paced acoustics, riffs, and additional chimes, the overall arrangement has been done quite nicely so I thought Van did a good job for her first composition. However, compared to her previous B-sides, this one was forgettable.

By the time Van released her second cover album in March, I was already getting tired of her cover songs. Was her cover of ORIGINAL LOVE’s 1996 song Hum a Tune not good enough to make the last album? I suppose so because it’s pretty bad and quite annoying. I could say this one of her worst covers she’s done, but that’s stretching it. Even though the song itself is upbeat and pretty rockish, it ends up being boring because of the typical arrangement and bland vocals.

Overall Rating

3 stars

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Omh. What is wrong with you!? This single deserves only one star! She killed her children and you give her 3 stars! Omh. SICKO. D<

  2. WUT U TALKIN BOUT REX OMG DIS SHINGERU WUS ORGASMIC N STUF TOTES RAB TOKYO WHOREY HDU GIFF IT TREE STAA U JUSS HAF NOE EHL&ARE D< BRB BANNING j00 WIFF ABOOSIV MAWD POWAA!!1~

  3. omg u gaiz r so mean
    LEAVE TOMIKO ALONE!!!11!! *rawr*

  4. lol, you guys are horrible XD

  5. Rex? Is he Scooby Do? The hell? Is he speaking English?
    ………………………………..
    I actually enjoyed Tokyo Biyori. I find it to be good.
    She composed message? More love to Ban-can. I thought it was ok.
    Same for Hum a Tune.

  6. Oh yeah, I forgot to add:

    This single sucks.

    That is all.

  7. HOW DARE YOU CALLED “THIS SINGLE IS SUCK”??!!!!, what a bad statement

  8. OMGWTF. Get this minivanmomjeans shit out of here.

  9. I think it has an interesting tune, and although I disliked both VOICE and VOICE~Cover me with love~ albums, I do like this single. It has a nice feeling to it :)

    I adored her first solo album — it was amazing <3 I hope she comes out with stuff like that soon. She really is an amazing artist and she should use her talent.

  10. Reading these comments, I feel like this page was spammed or something. Show a little dignity please, people.

    Anyway, I agree with Lex. Really forgettable, not that great overall.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

