YUI – SUMMER SONG

July 23, 2008 at 7:28 AM | Posted in YUI | 2 Comments
Tags:

Tracklisting
1. SUMMER SONG
2. Oh My God
3. Laugh away ~YUI Acoustic Version~
4. SUMMER SONG ~Instrumental~

This is YUI’s 13th single and it was released on July 2, 2008. The single reached #1 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 116,227 copies.

I kind of lost faith in YUI after being really disappointed by her latest album I LOVED YESTERDAY, but I’m happy to say that her singles are still really solid. This is the case for SUMMER SONG, which is more of a laid back tune for the summer. Slowly drifting away from the alternative vibe of her last album, this song showcases the acoustic pop sound that she does so well. Her vocals sound more screechy than usual during at some parts and I thought they could have been better.

Her B-sides are starting to get better as well. It’s too bad that Oh My God is so short since it’s the better song on this single. The music and the vocals are a little more progressive and I thought the background vocals added a great touch to the song. Like I said before, the song is way too short for its own good. It’s still a good track but I wished there was a little bit more.

A YUI single isn’t complete with an acoustic version! This time we get one of Laugh away, the promotional track from her previous album (it was also a digital single). This was definitely the song that stood out compared to all the new tracks from I LOVED YESTERDAY and she creates another excellent acoustic version.

Overall Rating 

3½ stars

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I agree with you in that I find Oh My God too short . Just when the song began to sound good , it ended adruptly .

  2. Well Lex, I’m glad to hear you haven’t completely lost hope in YUI. She’s really amazing IMO- though I’m such a bias fanboy! XD Yeps!

    Love the new single! I agree about Oh My God too. :(

    Hey Lex, did you get to hear OH YEAH in ~YUI Acoustic~ ? It’s very nice. :D


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

