Leah Dizon – Communication!!!

September 14, 2008 at 8:14 PM | Posted in Leah Dizon | 11 Comments
Tags:


The cover of the CD+DVD edition

Communication!!! is Leah Dizon’s 2nd album and it was released on August 20, 2008. The album reached #16 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 13,533 copies.

♦ ♦ ♦

Starting things off is the cute pop number Step into my world. The music is very cheerful and mostly consists of a steady beat, quick piano chords, and underlying strings. The song relies a lot on English lyrics, mainly during the chorus, but I thought they were pretty catchy. For me, it’s always been a hit and miss with Leah Dizon’s poppier tracks but this one was well done. I also have to say it’s a great album opener too.

Now we go from cute to FIERCE with Love Paradox, which is by far Dizon’s most impressive song to date. This is a fiery track with awesome urban undertones like heavy bass, synth, and more aggressive vocals from Dizon. The verses are still my favorite parts because she sings in a lower pitch and that makes her voice sound fuller. She should perform more songs like this since that vocal style really works for her.

The next track is the offbeat and reggae inspired LOVE SWEET CANDY. This is a really catchy tune that features light reggae guitar riffs next to sparking chimes and laid back horns. The chorus also has a infectious melody that I really enjoy. This song was originally a B-side from the Vanilla single.

Dizon presents something new with a song that is more rock oriented. Without a good-bye opens with gentle acoustics that are followed by some light electric guitar riffs. This all accumulates into the chorus where she displays strong vocals. I liked her singing for the most part but her voice does strain sometimes, especially near the end.

I’m still not very fond of Vanilla. Actually, I don’t like it at all. It’s such an uninteresting song and I don’t think it’s very appealing. The arrangement is lazy and poorly executed, making this one very drab pop song. At the moment, it currently ranks as her worst A-side as well as the worst song on this album in my book.

With a style that’s similar to Love Paradox, the next track crashes in with a western R&B sound. What I liked the most about Nothin’ to Lose were the lyrics (the song is completely in English). Dizon sings about “gambling on love” and how it’s like a card game so I thought they were clever to say the least. Her vocals are great as well, further proving that her voice is better suited for more R&B inspired material.

We have another rock song but it’s in English this time. Lost at Sea has stronger electric guitars and drums when compared to Without a good-bye but I didn’t really like the vocals. The music and lyrics are pretty good though. The interesting thing about this song is that Dizon worked on its composition along with Yoshihiko Chino.

I had to admit that the title track is pretty hot. Communication!!! is heavy on the bass and synth with a looping brass(?) instrument in the background. I find the chorus to be insanely catchy with the opening Just your touch is never enough line too. I can’t get it out of my head sometimes.

Not Too Bad might possibly be my favorite of the album’s new tracks. It also has that Western sound but with a pop sensibility and it actually reminds me a lot of Mariah Carey’s recent songs. Dizon does those cute vocals again but she sounds good and not to mention catchy. I also loved the consistent flow of the music. Oddly enough, this is the first of only 2 songs on the album that Dizon didn’t write/co-write the lyrics for.

Dizon works again with Yoshihiko Chino for the speedy rock track BxKxRxxx (WTF?). Chino wrote the lyrics while Dizon helped with the composition. What stood out the most for me was the incredibly fast paced chorus where she sings with impressive vigor. It’s an entertaining song and I thought it was pretty good.

The album begins to slow down with the gentle and serene Under The Same Sky, the B-side from the Love Paradox single. Comprising of light beats and distant synth lines, this is an elegant and well performed song. The ethereal atmosphere is very pleasant and the same goes for Dizon’s vocals.

The final track Thank you, an uplifting and cheerful song. There is a nice clapping beat with some pretty harps as well. I really liked the lyrics where Dizon gives her thanks and gratitude to the people most important to her. The album ends in a lighthearted fashion as the song begins to fade out.

I was quite impressed with Communication!!! and Leah Dizon has made an extremely solid sophomore effort. The main thing that makes it a step up over her debut album Destiny Line is its overall production value. The album as a whole just sounds more refined and polished, especially with songs like Love Paradox and Nothin’ to Lose. It was also nice to see Dizon branch out into other genres of music like rock and R&B (but she should focus more on R&B since her voice is perfect for it). She has somewhat improved vocally but I still think there’s room for her to get better. She has the potential to be even greater and I believe that she’s going in the right direction with this album.

 Overall Rating

4 stars

Tracklisting

1. Step into my world
2. Love Paradox
3. LOVE SWEET CANDY
4. Without a good-bye
5. Vanilla
6. Nothin’ to Lose
7. Lost at Sea
8. Communication!!!
9. Not Too Bad
10. BxKxRxxx
11. Under The Same Sky
12. Thank you

Note: My favorite tracks are highlighted in blue!

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I haven’t heard Leah’s debut album yet, but I can definitely say that I’m interested in hearing it after listening to this album, because it’s pretty much excellent if you can forgive some of the vocal glitches. Here’s hoping she’s taking lessons, but she’s not too bad at the moment.

  2. Great review! I waited all week for it XD.

  3. I swear “Not too bad” flows like “don’t forget about us” by Mariah carey not to mention thats its my fav from leah.

  4. […] Leah Dizon – Communication!!! […]

  5. I like her poppier songs best. Not too many people like Step into my world as much as I do… but Communication!!! is my favorite! It has classic Leah beats from L.O.V.E U, Unmei-sen, etc and the music is sooo catchy.

    I’m glad you could tolerate her vocals more than I can…

  6. lol Not Too Bad was my favorite song on this album! it was truely amazing! this album came out great! great job Leah!

  7. My favourite song off the album was Nothin’ to Lose. Leah sounded amazing and it’s probably the best I’ve ever heard her voice.

  8. Another Great Review!
    I definitely agree. This was such a huge improvement over the last album. Her vocals, although rough at times, have definitely gotten better. I’m so glad she featured a more versatile sound on this album. This album has slowly grown to be one of my favorite Japanese albums of 2008.

  9. Thanks!! I love this album…

    http://astoundingsounds.wordpress.com/

  10. Great review, I’m glad you like the album as much as I do! I think you should do a review of Ami Suzuki’s new single, “cant stop the DISCO”.

  11. Leah Dizon is making a comeback!
    http://www.japansugoi.com/wordpress/leah-dizon-tv-commercial-for-shonan-biyou-geka-beauty-clinic/


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

