Ami Suzuki – can’t stop the DISCO

October 9, 2008 at 3:40 PM | Posted in Ami Suzuki | 3 Comments
Tags:

Tracklisting
1. can’t stop the DISCO
2. climb up to the top
3. SUPER MUSIC MAKER (SA’08S/A mix)

This is Ami Suzuki’s 29th single and it was released on September 24, 2008. The single reached #17 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 4,655 copies.

can’t stop the DISCO is a different taste of electropop from Ami Suzuki. I only thought the song was “okay” at first but it has grown on me. I still don’t think it’s as good as her previous single though. This Yasutaka Nakata produced track has a more laid back house style compared to the full blown dance sound of FREE FREE and ONE. For instance, there is less emphasis on synth but rather on the beats instead. As a result, I thought the music flowed very smoothly. Suzuki sings in a lower pitch but her vocal performance is pretty catchy and sleek as well. This is most evident in the chorus, the most infectious and memorable part of the song.

The ending of can’t stop the DISCO flows right into the sensual introduction of climb up to the top (you heard the sound of women moaning and stuff). This song is in English and features Suzuki literally shouting out the lyrics. It gets borderline annoying but fortunately this song focuses more on the music and I have to admit that it is HOT. The synth lines are amazing, especially during that crazy section in the second half, but that’s about it. If Suzuki changed her vocal style instead of just plain yelling, this would have been a lot better.

At least the remix of SUPER MUSIC MAKER is awesome. I actually liked the overall presentation of the SA’08S/A remix more than the original. It features less distorted vocals and a more pop oriented sound while still having a club feel. I also loved how the ending vocals of the original transformed into a new bridge section for the remix.

Overall Rating 

3½ stars

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. EXCELLENT!! i didn’t know about giving this single a listening to or what, but your review of climb up to the top just may have changed my mind. lol.

    and that remix of SUPER MUSIC MAKER intrests me, =D and now i shall give this song a wonderful listen too =]

  2. I agree that can’t stop the DISCO was not as good as her previous singles but I still liked it. I loooove climb up to the top for some reason. The super music maker remix is good don’t get me wrong but I still like the original better. Good job Lex!

  3. I just got into Suzuki (with FREE FREE actually) and this is by far my favorite single (altogether, FREE FREE is my favorite song) by her so far.
    I really like how the A-side rolls right into the B-side without a pause in the music. This single makes me wanna DANCE DANCE! lol
    I haven’t heard the origianl SUPER MUSIC MAKER but the rmx is so right on!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

