Perfume – Dream Fighter

December 1, 2008 at 8:47 PM | Posted in Perfume | 3 Comments
Tags:

Tracklisting
1. Dream Fighter
2. Negai (願い)
3. Dream Fighter -Original Instrumental-
4. Negai -Original Instrumental-

This is Perfume’s 8th major label single (13th overall) and it was released on November 19, 2008. The single reached #2 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 84,153 copies.

Perfume presents another cute techno track with Dream Fighter. Compared to the group’s previous single love the world, this song features more synth and a heavier dance sound with an overall arrangement that isn’t as pop. The girls showcase stronger vocals as well, especially during the chorus (my favorite part of the song). However, I don’t find it as catchy or as memorable like love the world though. Perhaps Dream Fighter will grow on me, but at the moment I only think of it as “okay”.

The B-side is pretty interesting. Negai is probably one of the most laid back songs from the group and the music has this relaxing lounge club feel to it. The same goes for the vocals too. There is still a good use of synth but it incorporates some percussion with those blaring beats in the background. The ending is radically different though and I loved how the song closes with just a simple piano.

Overall Rating

3 stars

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. For me, I LOVE this single.
    The slight darkness and Pre Polyrhythm vocals really did it for me.
    And Negai was a really nice try at a Tek ballad, and I really liked that piano at the end.

  2. […] Perfume – Dream Fighter […]

  3. wowzers, I thought this single would get a higher score. I personally LOVE Dream Fighter. It’s mega addictive although Negai isn’t particularly. I’ve heard Macaroni comparisons but that is not even close to Macaroni level


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

