Ayumi Hamasaki – Days / GREEN

January 10, 2009 at 10:36 PM | Posted in Ayumi Hamasaki | 6 Comments
Tags:

Tracklisting
Days / GREEN version
1. Days (Original mix)
2. GREEN (Original mix)
3. LOVE ~Destiny~ (10th Anniversary version)
4. Days (Original mix -Instrumental-)
5. GREEN (Original mix -Instrumental-)
6. LOVE ~Destiny~
    (10th Anniversary version -Instrumental-)

GREEN / Days version
1. GREEN (Original mix)
2. Days (Original mix)
3. TO BE (10th Anniversary version)
4. GREEN (Original mix -Instrumental-)
5. Days (Original mix -Instrumental-)
6. TO BE
    (10th Anniversary version -Instrumental-)

This is Ayumi Hamasaki’s 44th single and it was released on December 17, 2008. The single reached #1 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 190,891 copies.

I swear there isn’t an Ayumi Hamasaki ballad that I DON’T like because I was instantly feeling Days on the first listen. The song is a typical pop ballad and even though there is nothing particularly special about it, I still think it’s quite nice. The music has a calm and pristine quality that’s perfect for the winter season as well. I enjoyed the chorus the most because it’s pretty catchy and Hamasaki’s vocals are great.

The other track is far more interesting in terms of overall presentation. GREEN is somewhat unique compared to Hamasaki’s recent rock oriented material and it’s refreshing. There is a prominent Oriental influence in the fast paced arrangement thanks to the use of Eastern styled acoustics and percussion. It was awesome to hear her perform something different and she sounded radiant while doing it. At first, I preferred Days, but this song has a been growing on me a lot and now I enjoy both songs equally.

Hooray for more 10th anniversary versions! This time, the songs were originally released back in 1999. Just like on her last single, depending on the version you got, there is a different tracklisting and 10th anniversary version. I’m glad to say that the new version of LOVE ~Destiny~, her 7th single, is superb. While I thought the original was nice, her vocals from back then really kept me from liking it. The song sounds much better with Hamasaki’s improved vocals and the revamped arrangement that features gorgeous strings.

TO BE, her 8th single, was one of the few early Hamasaki songs that I actually liked so I was glad to see it get touched up. As heard in the new version of LOVE ~Destiny~, her vocals are stronger so that’s a big plus. The music is pretty much the same though, minus some minor tweaks and so on.

Overall Rating

4½ stars

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. great review ^_^V

  2. Didn’t the beginning of ‘Green’ sound like Sakura Modern? I’ve never been a huge fan of Ayu so I was looking forward to this…but I was kinda disappointed. Oh well. The PV for Days was nice though. :)

  3. @ Aya – yes it does sound like alan’s Sakura Modern because for both songs , the melody was composed by the same person so yup . Frankly I prefer GREEN than Days initally but I like both equally now

  4. I love Ayu. She brings out high quality stuff everytime. She’s extremely consistent and always does the best for her fans. Shes just Amazing

  5. True! I’ve really been enjoyed Ayu’s releases lately (though so few) mostly due to her new approach and deeper, richer vocals. Ayu really is a shinning gem! <3

  6. Lol @ Aya and Karen – Yeah, I wondered if you noticed that parts of the chorus in “Days” sounds haunting similar to Yuna Ito’s “Miss You”. (When Ayu sings “aitakute, aitakute…”


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

