Koda Kumi – stay with me

January 13, 2009 at 4:28 PM | Posted in Koda Kumi | 4 Comments

Tracklisting
1. stay with me
2. Winter Bell
3. stay with me (Orgel Version)
4. stay with me (Instrumental)
5. Winter Bell (Instrumental)

This is Koda Kumi’s 42nd single and it was released on December 24, 2008. The single reached #1 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 65,657 copies.

Koda Kumi seriously has been pumping out the ballads lately, but at least stay with me is better than Moon Crying. The song is described as a winter love ballad and you get exactly just that.  Don’t get me wrong because I think the song is good, but it’s kind of ordinary at the same time too. At least the upbeat arrangement keeps things from getting boring and Kumi sings with nice, lower pitched vocals.

This pretty much proves how crazy I am as a Koda Kumi fan because I looooove Winter Bell. Compared to stay with me, the B-side is a lot brighter, cheery, and…dare I say it? CUTE! I honestly don’t mind it when Kumi does cutesy pop songs like this one because they’re fun, catchy, and she sounds great while performing them. I have taken a big liking chorus because it has a nice rhythm and the vocals are very catchy.

Also included on the single is a simple orgel version of stay with me. Like any other orgel version, it’s an instrumental comprised of music box chimes set to the vocal harmony of the original song.

Overall Rating

4 stars

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I never knew this single had an orgel version.
    :o
    It’s like Kanon Wakeshima.

    Chances are, I’m gonna go and listen to this single because of the B-side.
    I’m a bigger fan of her bubblegum pop songs than her ballads.

  2. Winter Bell is just <3 , too bad it didn’t make the cut in TRICK :(

  3. i LOVED winter bell compared to STAY WITH ME.

    ^_^ i can’t wait till this album comes out

  4. Haha, yeah Winter Bell is a nice one. :)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

