Ami Suzuki – Reincarnation

March 15, 2009 at 8:48 PM | Posted in Ami Suzuki | 9 Comments
Tags:

Tracklisting
1. Reincarnation (Original)
2. Dub-I-Dub
3. Reincarnation (Extended Version)
4. Reincarnation (Instrumental)

This is Ami Suzuki’s 30th single and it was released on February 25, 2009. The single reached #42 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 3,193 copies.

Instead of Yasutaka Nakata, Ami Suzuki worked with Taku Takahashi for Reincarnation, an upbeat dance tune. I’m going to flat out say that I do not like this song because it is a stinky hot mess. Almost everything about the song is disjointed and unorganized too. I mean, what the hell is going on? Seriously though, the arrangement has no direction whatsoever and the transitions are pretty sloppy. Don’t get me started on Suzuki’s vocals either, especially during the chorus. Enough of that yelling, girl!

Fortunately, the B-side is much better. I enjoyed Suzuki’s cover of Dub-I-Dub, a eurobeat song that was originally performed Me&My. The chorus is my favorite part because it’s very catchy and I liked the song’s overall laid back atmosphere compared to the confusion heard in Reincarnation. This is definitely a case of “simpler is better” as well. It would have been cool to see a Japanese version of this song since it would have made an ideal A-side for Suzuki.

The next track is the extended version of Reincarnation. Ugh, talk about worthless and adding insult to injury. You just get more dumb stuff in the form of elongated instrumental sections and that just makes things worse. The original version is already bad enough!

Overall Rating

2½ stars

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. defiantly agreed about the A-side. but the B-side is gold. lol i love it. I LOVED ME & MY when i was younger and to think i would never hear this song again. i did, AND I LOVE IT!! great cover ami! maybe she’ll do more ME & MY or any smile.dk songs.

    awwww but a DDR dream… lol

  2. i can agree…it’s just so disappointing that Reincarntion came aftr the awesomeness of Supreme Show…what a shame…

  3. People are giving this single a lot of unnecessary flack. =(

  4. Am I the only one who likes this single? Seriosly in my opinion, I think it’s better than anything Ami’s released before, but then again I don’t like many of her songs besides this one.

  5. ^lol. I enjoyed it too but, it’s far from great.

  6. Wow,I’m surprised.I think Reincarnation was something very refreshing and it’s a great song overall.But that’s just my opinion :)

  7. I remember watching the video for it, and I cringed at it.
    Then about a minute into it, I gave up on it.
    Chances are when i finally get to it, it’s going to grow on me.
    XD

  8. Well, that’s new. I had no idea that “Dub-I-Dub” was originally a remake. Anyways, I know it’s ur opinion, I know, but I actually liked “Reincarnation!” Nice change, somewhat.

  9. I love Reincarnation! first I hated it but after a few listens I fell in love with it


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

