Yuna Ito – trust you

March 31, 2009 at 7:08 AM | Posted in Yuna Ito | 3 Comments
Tags:

The cover of the regular edition

trust you is Yuna Ito’s 13th single and it was released on March 4, 2009. The single reached #5 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 43,446 copies. The title track was used as the 2nd ending theme song for season 2 of the anime Mobile Suit Gundam 00.

♦ ♦ ♦

I think Yuna Ito has been on a roll lately and trust you has got to be my favorite single from her so far. An R&B styled ballad, it is a sweeping love song that is very endearing. The combination of beats, piano, and strings is very nice and create an uplifting, yet melancholy atmosphere. This IS a romantic song, but there is also an underlying layer of sadness beneath it all. Ito’s vocals are excellent as well. She sounds great and I love that her voice is full of strength.

The B-side is also quite good. It took me longer to warm up to Brand New World compared to trust you but I really like this song now. You can think of it as a tamer version of Koi wa groovy×2 but I think this song is somewhat more memorable. The chorus is catchy and I liked the mid-tempo dance beats included, so I think this is one of Ito’s better executed pop songs. She has a knack for releasing awesome ballads and I even though I said that I’m still a little “iffy” on her upbeat songs, that doesn’t mean she can’t release the occasional surprise.

A remix of Koi wa groovy×2 is included on the single and it’s pretty similar to the original; perhaps TOO similar. I did see more emphasis on the “Caribbean” aspect of the song in the remix since it utilizes more percussion like island flavored drums and so on. Still, there’s not much difference here compared to the original but that isn’t necessarily a bad thing.

The Gundam 00 Version of trust you is only available on the Gundam version of the single (which features a different cover art). You gotta please the anime fans too, I guess! Anyway, this shortened TV size mix starts off differently and features new vocals.

Overall Rating

4½ stars

Tracklisting

1. trust you
2. Brand New World
3. Koi wa groovy×2 -DJ-PASSION MORE PASSION REMIX- (恋はgroovy×2)
4. trust you -Gundam 00 Version- (trust you -ガンダム00 Version-)
    [Gundam edition bonus track]
5. trust you -instrumental-

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. it’s great that Yuna has bounced back in terms of sales & chart positions with trust you after miss you & Koi wa groovyx2 both tanked which frankly sucked . I hope she can release a new album soon

  2. This was a great single and it deserved the success it got, I’m happy it’s brought it out of her sales slump. Anyway I hope Yuna keeps up her roll of great singles in this new era, though it won’t be hard considering her next single is a response single to Ima Demo Zutto, according to wikipedia anyway

  3. yes, I looove trust you! It’s good that her last few singles have at least one song that I really enjoy =)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

