Hitomi Shimatani – SMILES

April 1, 2009 at 9:57 PM | Posted in Hitomi Shimatani | 1 Comment
Tags:

Tracklisting
1. SMILES
2. Stay with me
3. SMILES -Instrumental-
4. Stay with me -Instrumental-

This is Hitomi Shimatani’s 29th single and it was released on March 4, 2009. The single reached #27 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 5,509 copies. The title track was used as the theme song for the movie Parallel.

SMILES is a simpler track compared to Hitomi Shimatani’s previous upbeat A-sides. While the song does come off as uneventful at first, it has a minimal yet pleasant sound that is reminiscent of the spring season. The arrangement is mainly acoustic based with some light beats added in, so the music is quite cheery. I have to admit that the chorus is pretty catchy and Shimtani’s vocals are wonderful as usual.

I enjoyed the B-side more though. Stay with me sounds a little bit like SMILES, but there is more emphasis on piano and strings, which I really liked. I also thought this song was more charming and memorable when it comes to overall sound. The looping vocals with the French lyrics (c’est la de pas du du fa sot) were a cute addition too.

Overall Rating 

3½ stars

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I agree, i thought stay with me was better than Smiles. Even though smiles definitely had it’s own charms i felt that stay with me was better as a whole package


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

