Koda Kumi × misono – It’s all Love!

April 24, 2009 at 7:32 PM | Posted in Koda Kumi, misono | 4 Comments
Tags: ,

The cover of the CD+DVD edition 

It’s all Love! is a special collaboration single between sisters Koda Kumi and misono and it was released on March 31, 2009. The single reached #1 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 97,577 copies.

♦ ♦ ♦

You know, I’ve always wanted Koda Kumi and misono to collaborate even though they are complete opposites when it comes to musical styles. It looks like that wish came true with It’s all Love!, a strange, funky, hybrid of a song. Koda Kumi does pop and R&B while misono does rock and what do you get when you mix them together? Musically, the song is a cluttered, hot mess but oddly enough, I thought the sisters sounded great together. The arrangement is very chaotic and filled with frantic electric guitar riffs, drums, and synth. Add that random R&B-ish segment that appears during the bridge and you got yourself a song! Surprisingly, I liked the vocals and the sisters do make a great pair. Kumi sounds good as usual but I noticed a vast improvement in misono. Honestly, she has never sounded better vocally.

The B-sides on the single are solo songs from each sister, starting with faraway. This is Koda Kumi’s solo song and it’s your typical J-pop ballad. *yawn* There’s nothing new here and the song is incredibly unremarkable. It’s too much on the safe side. NEXT~

Unfortunately, misono’s solo song is a lot worse. Tenbin ~Tsuyogari na Watashi×Yowagari na Kimi~ is absolutely cringe worthy. It’s soooooo bad. I never liked her “raw” acoustic based songs but this one takes the cake. All I have to say about her vocals is “TONE IT DOWN, GIRL”. The yelling near the end makes me want to die.

Overall Rating

3 stars

Tracklisting

1. It’s all Love!
2. faraway / Koda Kumi
3. Tenbin ~Tsuyogari na Watashi×Yowagari na Kimi~ (天秤~強がりな私×弱がりな君~)
    / misono
4. It’s all Love! (Instrumental)
5. faraway (Instrumental) / Koda Kumi
6. Tenbin ~Tsuyogari na Watashi×Yowagari na Kimi~ (Instrumental) / misono

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I thought the same, when I first listened to it, I was like, “well, it sounds kinda… messy but… I like it :D

  2. I think that they harmonised well, especially during the bridge but misono still sounds a bit screechy when she sings with energy. But she has made vast vocal improvements

  3. Ya I loved this collab! Much awesomeness! Faraway…… To be honest I’m a little tired of ballad’s from kuu like for real. LOL and misono’s work I never really heard until this single and I wasn’t too fond to be honest LOL I just remember hearing like screeching and I was like “ahhhhhhhhh WTF” LOL haha but good a side :)

  4. oh I love your reviews =)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

