alan – Kuon no Kawa

May 5, 2009 at 8:25 PM | Posted in alan | 3 Comments
Tags:

Tracklisting
1. Kuon no Kawa (久遠の河)
2. Chi Bi ~Da Jiang Dong Qu~ 
    (赤壁 ~大江東去~)
3. RED CLIFF ~Shin Sen~ (RED CLIFF ~心・戦~)
4. Xin Zhan ~RED CLIFF~ (心・戦 ~RED CLIFF~)
5. Kuon no Kawa (Instrumental)
6. Chi Bi ~Da Jiang Dong Qu~ (Instrumental)

This is alan’s 9th single and it was released on April 8, 2009. The single reached #3 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 37,740 copies. The 2nd track was used as the theme song for the Chinese movie Red Cliff Part II and the title track was the theme song for the movie’s Japanese release.

alan keeps churning out those singles, doesn’t she? Oh well, I’m not complaining. Kuon no Kawa sounds very old fashioned and has a classic, traditional flair to it. That being said, the arrangement is very top notch and features imperial strings and woodwinds. Just like in RED CLIFF ~Shin Sen~, there is a great buildup in the verses and it transitions into a sweeping, powerful chorus. While I thought the song wasn’t as grandiose as RED CLIFF ~Shin Sen~ because it felt kind of short in terms of length, it is still executed extremely well. It just left me wanting more in the end.

Then we have the original Chinese version of the song, Chi Bi ~Da Jiang Dong Qu~. There is a very noticable difference from the Japanese version in that the pitch of the music has been raised an octave. I didn’t really like this though, especially when it came to alan’s vocals. She just sounded shrilly and kind of annoying to me. There’s no mountain wailing here like in the Japanese version either.

Since this single is associated with the movie Red Cliff, the songs from part 1 of the film are included because avex is evil. Since I am lazy, check out my thoughts on RED CLIFF ~Shin Sen~ (the Japanese version) and Xin Zhan ~RED CLIFF~ (the Chinese version) by reading my review of the original single HERE. ;D
New versions of the song would have been better, but that’s just me.

Overall Rating 

 4 stars

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I feel the same way about Kuon no Kawa. It’s a great song, but I do wish it was a bit longer… I’m glad someone else agrees with me about the vocals in the Japanese version being better though. I mean, she sounds good in both, but she sounds so much stronger in the Japanese version. I also feel like in the Chinese version, since there’s no real change between how she sounds going from the verses into the choruses, it makes the song sound kinda bland.

  2. Hmm, maybe it takes growing up with Chinese folk songs, but I’m totally in love with the Chinese version, and just okay with the Japanese version. I’ll agree that the JP one is mixed a lot better though, but I just totally love the crystal vibrato in her voice when she hits those high notes. It showcases her classical training better, IMO. But again, I guess it’s just me.

  3. I’m in total love with both versions.
    XD
    The Japanese version is more like regular alan.
    But when she reaches those amazingly high notes in the Chinese version, she sounds like a GODDESS.
    <3
    I can't get over it.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

