Ayumi Hamasaki – Sunrise / Sunset ~LOVE is ALL~

August 26, 2009 at 12:15 PM | Posted in Ayumi Hamasaki | 9 Comments
Tags:


The cover of the CD only edition

Sunrise / Sunset ~LOVE is ALL~ is Ayumi Hamasaki’s 46th single and it was released on August 12, 2009. The single reached #1 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 90,713 copies. The first track was used as the theme song for the drama Dandy Daddy?.

There is something very off about both of the covers…oh wait, I got it. Ayu looks like a damn monkey. A badly photoshopped monkey.

♦ ♦ ♦

From the very beginning, this single made me think of Koda Kumi’s Yume no Uta / Futari de… since it features 2 songs that share the same basic melody but have vastly different arrangements and lyrics. Unlike the Kumi single, one song is an upbeat summer track while the other is a sweeping ballad.

It sounds like the electronic influences of Hamasaki’s last album NEXT LEVEL make an appearance in Sunrise ~LOVE is ALL~. Initially, I was expecting the song to be another “typical Ayu summer tune” but I was mildly surprised. The sparkling synth and beats make it a little different. I feel like the song was designed to get stuck in your head because the chorus is extremely catchy. There’s no denying that. It doesn’t help that Ayu’s minions are chanting “motto ooki na koe de, motto ooki na ai wo” at certain intervals as well. I surrender, okay? I really like it now. XD

Then we have the ballad Sunset ~LOVE is ALL~, which I thought was quite relaxing thanks to the flowing strings and piano. As you would expect, everything has been toned down to create a gentle and bubbly atmosphere. Personally, I prefer Sunrise by a longshot though.

Also on the single is a giant mash up mix that includes 5 songs. fairyland, arguably the most unique of these songs, appears first and it’s followed by glitter and BLUE BIRD. This portion of the mash up is the most interesting because those songs blend into each other so well. That’s how eerily similar they are. It ends with Greatful days and July 1st, 2 older songs that I never really cared for. Sure, it’s a nice bonus on the single, but it really just proves that all of Hamasaki’s summer themed tracks sound the same.

Pros: I thought this single was fun. Predictable at times, but fun.
Cons: Apart from the awful covers, the mash up mix is just an 8 minute song. What’s next; a winter ballad mash up? (Actually, I would like that. LOL)

BASICALLY…motto ooki na koe de, motto ooki na ai wo =D

Overall Rating

3½ stars

Tracklisting

1. Sunrise ~LOVE is ALL~ (Original mix)
2. Sunset ~LOVE is ALL ~ (Original mix)
3. “fairyland-glitter-BLUE BIRD-Greatful days-July 1st” Mega-Mash-Up-Mix
4. Sunrise ~LOVE is ALL~ (Original mix -Instrumental-)
5. Sunset ~LOVE is ALL~ (Original mix -Instrumental-)

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i didn’t like the covers

    i d k wtf was going on there

    when i first saw them i was like WTF?!

    lol great review! =] my thoughts exactly on everything

  2. I find myself not enjoying reading your reviews as much as I used to. You seem to have gotten bitter with the artists, as if you’re sick of their music. >_<

  3. The only reason why he is being bitter with artists is because the artist themselves are releasing things that do not go with his tastes. I hate the cover of Sunrise/Sunset but like the songs to some extent. Although I find Sunset to be just a boring ballad remix of Sunrise.

  4. At least Lex isn’t an Ayumi-stan. :/

    Anyways, great review bb! ^^
    Loving the new format.

  5. omg I’m so sorry for disrespecting your goddess Ayumi-sama. Shame on me. =(
    Oh please. If you don’t like the (small amount of) negative comments, the exit is to the left.

  6. I pretty much agree with trisha… O___o Ayumi-sama, why?! >< lol.

    And Lex…Bravo!! ^___~

  7. I had the same feelings on Sunrise and Sunset :)! And the covers – she does look like a monkey lol :D
    Your reviews are great as always but I think TBT-reviewers are becoming an endangered species…

  8. You must persevere Lex! Don’t go extinct on us. :P

    I agree about the covers. YUCK! >.<

    I actually didn't like EITHER song at start but, after half-a-dozen plays, they both grew on me. It's just, I don't feel there's really anything special or all that great about these two song. OH! And I HATED the damn mash-up. It was awful Lex. :(

  9. yep yep gotta agree with you Lex. The album cover looks so obviously fake…
    Im really starting to get sick of her voice too.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

