BENI – Zutto Futari de

August 28, 2009 at 8:40 PM | Posted in BENI | 2 Comments
Tags:

Zutto Futari de (ずっと二人で) is BENI’s 12th single and it was released on August 12, 2009. The single reached #67 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 1,251 copies.

BENI continues her trend of ~classy side portraits~! Even though she is sporting one of those fake flowers with the fake water droplets, it’s an elegant cover.

♦ ♦ ♦

Like her previous single Koi Kogarete, we are presented with another mid-tempo, borderline ballad. To clear things up, I don’t think Zutto Futari de is bad by any stretch and I think that it’s a little better than Koi Kogarete. This song is quite pretty actually, but I am starting to get bored of her releasing these types of songs as A-sides.

Once again, the B-sides are upbeat tracks that could have easily passed as A-sides. The first two are stardust and With U, which were kind of unmemorable for me at first. I’m warming up to them now, especially With U because of the bright acoustic pop sound, but it’s taking more time with stardust even though it has a better overall rhythm. That song will appear on her new album Bitter & Sweet so I’ll be hearing more of it.

The surprise of this single was the cover of The Boy Is Mine, the popular duet that was originally performed by Brandy and Monica. I remember this song fondly when I was younger in the late 90s (oh memories! LOL). R&B singer Tynisha Keli joins her as “the other girl” and I was thrown off by her voice when I first heard it. It’s kind of nasal, but she definitely has good tone and control. I liked this collaboration despite my initial worries that BENI’s husky voice wouldn’t go well with Keli’s.

Pros: The A-side is nice and I really liked the cover of The Boy Is Mine.
Cons: The B-sides aren’t exactly up to snuff. They might be my least favorite from her yet.

BASICALLY…Bitter & Sweet is out next week! GIMME THAT NOW.

Overall Rating

 3½ stars

Tracklisting

1. Zutto Futari de (ずっと二人で)
2. stardust
3. With U
4. The Boy Is Mine feat. Tynisha Keli

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You didn’t like stardust? Surprise of the year, honestly!
    I thought everyone liked it… XDDD
    I liked Zutto Futari de too though.

  2. i liked the cover of her.

    i still don’t know about the cover though, it was pretty close to the original. =] but i d k

    great review!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

