JYONGRI – Muteki na Ai

September 4, 2009 at 2:49 PM | Posted in JYONGRI | 6 Comments
Tags:

Muteki na Ai (無敵な愛) is JYONGRI’s 8th single and it was released on August 19, 2009. This single reached #34 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 3,143 copies.

I LOVE the cover. It’s her best one to date!

♦ ♦ ♦

As much as I love JYONGRI’s mid-tempo songs and ballads, it is always a treat when she releases an upbeat track as an A-side and Muteki na Ai is superb. Utilizing constant beats with upbeat strings, I thought this stylish tune had great production value. Her vocals are crisp and strong as well. There is also a nice break in the music that features low key strings with adlibbing in the background. All of her dance oriented songs have never disappointed me so I was very content with this song. It’s HOT, okay?

Then there’s START, which is also upbeat but definitely has more of a cute and uplifting vibe. It’s described as a “job hunting song” so go figure. lol
Anyway, I liked this song too. The chorus is very nice and it has lyrics that aren’t corny! Overall, the song is a lot better than the B-sides on her previous single.

Speaking of her previous single, a lovely piano version of Maybe Someday appears as track 3. Personally, the song sounds a lot better with just the piano and strings so I thought it was a step up compared to the original. It gets very pretty near the end.

Pros: Muteki na Ai is her best A-side since Kissing Me. The other tracks are well done too.
Cons: I really can’t think of any! XD I’m just hoping for less ballads and more upbeat dance songs in the future.

BASICALLY…listen to this single NOW!

Overall Rating

 4½ stars

Tracklisting

1. Muteki na Ai (無敵な愛)
2. START
3. Maybe Someday -Piano Hikigatari Ver.- (Maybe Someday -ピアノ弾き語り Ver.-)
4. Muteki na Ai (Instrumental)
5. START (Instrumental)

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I definitely agree with you–I can’t stop listening to “Muteki na Ai”!!

  2. Wow. Seems you’re both impressed. I better get on this! :O

  3. I totally agree with you 100% on this review!! :] Right now I am especially in love with the piano version of Maybe Someday. It blew me away!! <3

  4. […] JYONGRI – Muteki na Ai […]

  5. […] JYONGRI – Muteki na Ai (Beyond The Sea) […]

  6. Wow. I didn’t think Jyongri would ever get her shit together! This single is as hot as she is! OMG! Good going girl! =D and the new version of Someday is a step up!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

