alan – BALLAD ~Namonaki Koi no Uta~

September 14, 2009 at 10:56 PM | Posted in alan | 4 Comments
Tags:


The cover of the CD only edition

BALLAD ~Namonaki Koi no Uta~ (BALLAD ~名もなき恋のうた~) is alan’s 10th single and it was released on September 2, 2009. The single reached #11 on the Oricon Weekly and sold 13,190 copies. The title track was used as the theme song for the movie of the same name.

These are definitely her worst covers ever, especially the CD+DVD edition. Sorry alan fans but I’m gonna talk shit about them. ♥
She looks dopey as hell, the ~teardrop~ is tacky, and don’t get me started on the white space/random pink bubbles at the top. WTF @ EVERYTHING. *rage*

♦ ♦ ♦

HEY GUYS! Did you guess what kind of song BALLAD ~Namonaki Koi no Uta~ is? *stumped*
Okay, it’s a ballad, but good lawd it’s a pretty one. The beginning is very beautiful and I loved the strings mixed with the vocals echoing in the background. I’m still on the fence with the rest of the song though. Sure, the music is flowing and quite dynamic at times but I can’t help but feel that it doesn’t measure up to previous ballads. There’s something missing but I can’t exactly pinpoint it just yet. I’m sorry for being so vague at the moment but this song will probably grow on me. It took a while before I started to fully appreciate her last single Kuon no Kawa so let’s see what happens.

The B-side is a new version of Shiawase no Kane, a song that was released as a digital single in May 2008. The “2009 version” has subtle differences compared to the original but it’s lovely nonetheless. I seriously can’t get over how gorgeous those strings are. The song as a whole is very uplifting and I’m currently liking it a lot more than the A-side.

Pros: Both songs are exquisite in their own right but Shiawase no Kane is the winner by far in my opinion.
Cons: BALLAD ~Namonaki Koi no Uta~ lacks the flair of past songs. Maybe that’s what I’ve been trying to say. LOL

BASICALLY…I hope the alan stans don’t start a mob over this. ;D

Overall Rating

 3½ stars

Tracklisting

1. BALLAD ~Namonaki Koi no Uta~ (BALLAD ~名もなき恋のうた~)
2. Shiawase no Kane (2009 ver.) (幸せの鐘)
3. BALLAD ~Namonaki Koi no Uta~ (Instrumental)
4. Shiawase no Kane (2009 ver.) (Instrumental)

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I do agree with the covers. Compared to the beautiful covers she had (yup, yup) this one was just too….blurry. It’s as if they don’t have time to shoot a better one.

    As for the songs. I thought it was okay (beautiful though) at first, but after I watched the live one, I totally love this song now. And her Japanese improved so well ^^.

    I heard the movie this song was featured on (i’m sure it is, it has the same name) i heard it’s quite sad. Great review. It’s fierce, as always.

  2. […] alan – BALLAD ~Namonaki Koi no Uta~ « Beyond the Sea ~ The TASTY Edition ♥. […]

  3. I love this single and it’s always good to see alan love from you. xD

    Don’t know if you’d be interested but if you didn’t know, she released a Mandarin album which I thought was also good so you should check it out. Keep up with these reviews! I like your new way of reviewing too. (Y)

  4. Absolutely Lex. Teh “flair” is not burning bright in this one. Also, I like the original ver. Shiawase better. ;)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

