Salyu – EXTENSION

September 14, 2009 at 10:06 AM | Posted in Salyu | 1 Comment
Tags:


The cover of the regular edition

EXTENSION is Salyu’s 12th single and it was released on August 19, 2009. The single reached #21 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 5,424 copies.

O_O @ the cover. She looks scary. If you look closely, you can see that the other shots in the transparent pink and yellow are much better.

♦ ♦ ♦

It seems that I don’t have a lot to say about this single, except for the A-side. EXTENSION is pretty good but the B-sides are what make the single fall flat. I’ll get to them later though. After listening to EXTENSION, it’s safe to say that Salyu has really improved vocally with these last couple of singles (LIBERTY, Corteo ~Gyouretsu~, etc.) She sounds sharper and seems to have a better control of her voice now. As for the music, the song is upbeat and features strings and drums with the occasional electric guitar. Overall, it’s a little less “experimental” than previous songs. Whatever, I liked it. =D

Then there’s I and ROSE. Both of them aren’t memorable and were simply just B-sides to me. I is an electric guitar driven track with good vocals so I’ll give it that much. The other track ROSE is in Engrish and acoustic based. I didn’t understand her most of the time so I went and looked up the lyrics. I thought they were nice.

On the limited edition, a live version of Corteo ~Gyouretsu~ is included. She sounded pretty good and I liked when she elevated her voice when the chorus came around. The verses are choppy though.

Pros: EXTENSION is another great Salyu song!
Cons: The B-sides did nothing for me.

BASICALLY…it’s time for a new album, Salyu.

Overall Rating

 3½ stars

Tracklisting

1. EXTENSION
2. I  (アイ (I))
3. ROSE
4. Corteo ~Gyouretsu~ LIVE Ver (at Nippon Budokan 2009.2.10)
    (コルテオ ~行列~ LIVE Ver (at 日本武道館 2009.2.10)) [Limited edition bonus track]

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. :D I LOVED EXTENSION! but you’re right, the B-sides are unmemorable. She really needs a new album next D:


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

