BENI – Bitter & Sweet

September 20, 2009 at 9:30 AM | Posted in BENI | 9 Comments
Tags:


The cover of the CD only edition

Bitter & Sweet is BENI’s 4th album and it was released on September 2, 2009. The album reached #5 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 104,501 copies. It’s also her first album under her new stage name as well as with Universal Records.

I think the covers are alright. I like the giant text and the fact that it’s not distracting from BENI herself. She is sitting on her own name after all. ;D

♦ ♦ ♦

It’s my time to shine. It took me some time.

I pretty much predicted that Bitter & Sweet was going to be her best album…
And duh, I was right. XD
Seriously, compare this album to the 3 albums she released when she was on avex trax and there is obviously a huge difference. The music sounds better, her vocals have improved drastically, and there is finally some coherent flow between each song. The R&B sound works for her and there are really some excellent tracks on here. I know have complained about her trend of releasing mid-tempo songs as A-sides but really, all those songs were good (Mou Nido to…, Kiss Kiss Kiss, Koi Kogarete, and Zutto Futari de).

I apply this to all of the new tracks as well. Even though most of them follow the same mid-tempo R&B formula, I thought they were done quite well and each song has something going for it. Even the songs that I didn’t care for, particularly KIRA☆KIRA☆ and Shinjisasete, had some kind of hook to keep me mildly interested. However, there were a few upbeat songs like Anything Goes!! and STAY but the problem is that they are few and far between since the album is dominated by the slower stuff.

Anyway, the new tracks that really impressed me were nice & slow and Beautiful Worldnice & slow has an awesome electronic based sound which sets it apart and I just loved the adlibbing and layered vocals in Beautiful World (does anybody know the guy featured in that track?). I did enjoy this album but I still would have liked more upbeat songs. Personally, the album would have been even better as a whole if it included some R&B songs with quicker beats or more flair in their arrangements. Even so, I am content with Bitter & Sweet because it contains the best material of her career thus far.

Pros: Leaving avex was a GOOD thing! She’s made such an improvement.
Cons: There’s not enough upbeat songs. As a certain blogger friend of mine would say: “WHERE ARE THE SLUTTY SONGS?!?!”

BASICALLY…the sweet outweighs the bitter! Nice work, BENI. =)

Overall Rating

4 stars

 

Tracklisting

1. Bitter & Sweet Intro
2. Kiss Kiss Kiss
3. Zutto Futari de (ずっと二人で)
4. Koi Kogarete (恋焦がれて)
5. Dakishimete feat. Dohzi-T (抱きしめて feat. 童子-T)
6. Anything Goes!!
7. stardust
8. KIRA☆KIRA☆
9. GO ON
10. Shinjisasete (信じさせて)
11. nice & slow
12. STAY
13. Beautiful World
14. Mou Nido to… (もう二度と・・・)
15. Kiss Kiss Kiss (DJ HASEBE REMIX)

Note: My favorite tracks are highlighted in blue!

 

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. This is a really good album! Beautiful World is definitely one of the best tracks on the album <3. Great review.

  2. […] BENI – Bitter & Sweet « Beyond the Sea ~ The TASTY Edition ♥. […]

  3. Bitter & Sweet is a great album.
    Nice job Beni!
    Good review. :)

  4. I like your new style of writing your reviews <3
    Bitter & Sweet is a really good album, I liked it despite having so many similar sounding songs… nice & slow is my fave <33

  5. I’m glad this site is still around, I remember this site when beni-arashiro.net was up :) I’m gonna add you to my links list at b-a’s new home. I’m loving BENI’s new stuff, excellent.

  6. Thank you for your review on this album. I do not know anything about this singer before reading your review here. After listening to this album just once, I believe this album is one of the best this year. BENI’s voice is very sweet. All the songs here are very sweet too. Nothing is bitter.

  7. so i MAY be super late on this but… she went from #126 to #5 with this album THAT IS A HUGE STEP from her last album, i heard KIRA KIRA, and i thought it was good, now im ready to check out the rest of this album =]

  8. I heard it’s Daisuke Imai that sings on Beautiful World.

  9. I thought so since he’s the producer and all. You hear him at the beginning of Kiss Kiss Kiss too.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

