Ken Hirai – CANDY

September 30, 2009 at 8:40 PM | Posted in Ken Hirai | 8 Comments
Tags:

CANDY is Ken Hirai’s 30th single and it was released on September 23, 2009. The single reached #7 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 10,301 copies.

I don’t get the cover but Ken-chan sure loves his rainbows. ;D

♦ ♦ ♦

Blech…I don’t like CANDY. Well, it’s really the chorus that I don’t like. It’s so annoying! I suppose it’s catchy but I get distracted by Hirai’s falsetto at end. The song is just your typical cutesy R&B pop track too. It’s nothing special and I thought Hirai did it better with Bye My Melody, which also had the fluffy pop sound.

I thought the first B-side was the best track on this single. Fursa Saida (Arabic for “pleased to meet you”) has a really funky ethnic sound that includes synth and percussion (there’s a lot of drum beats, bells, and the like). The arrangement is chaotic but I liked what I was hearing.

I had no idea what was going on in Do it!!. This song is so messy and it sounds like it can’t decide what tempo to stay on. The chorus really threw me off because of Hirai’s sluggish vocals. They don’t match with the mid-tempo beats and synth.

Pros: Fursa Saida and that’s about it.
Cons: The other two songs are pretty disappointing.

BASICALLY…just forget about this single. He has another one out next month.

Overall Rating

3 stars

Tracklisting

1. CANDY
2. Fursa Saida (フルサ・サイーダ)
3. Do it!!
4. CANDY (less vocal)

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. LOL I actually don’t mind CANDY but the one that really destroyed it for me big time was the PV which was really @_@ @_@ @_@

    I thought the fake star PV was O_O but this’s just :O

    thankfully Boku wa Kimi ni Koi wo Suru is better , waay LOL

  2. “CANDY” is actually the first Ken Hirai song I like lol. But yeah, the cover and promo image just scream “I’M GAY CAN’T U SEE BBZ?!”

  3. […] Ken Hirai – CANDY « Beyond the Sea ~ The Style. Edition. […]

  4. I have to COMPLETELY disagree. I thought this was a fun and nice change from the recent Ken works. This was one of the first singles to keep me dancing the entire time. It takes us to a place we don’t usually get from Ken. I’m VERY annoyed at the comments on the gayness of the cover. Its mean to be remnant of actual candy.

  5. I respect your opinion but come on, that cover is the gayest thing ever. Do you seriously think he’s straight? lmao

  6. I doubt that it’s supposed to represent actual candy….i think it’s more suggestive and more eluding to the fact of the video….C’mon think bitch THINK!

  7. I thought the video was just plain out strange. Period.

  8. Adam Lambert &#71s8;2…Adam’s is outselling the other guy his videos are also rocking. Adam not only has the# 1 selling video he has 18 of the top 40 videos. The real winner is ADAM……


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

