Kana Nishino – LOVE one.

October 4, 2009 at 7:16 PM | Posted in Kana Nishino | 5 Comments
Tags:


The cover of the CD only edition

LOVE one. is Kana Nishino’s debut album and it was released on June 24, 2009. The album reached #4 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 135,215 copies. Also, it was preceded by SIX singles: I, glowly days, Style., MAKE UP, Tookutemo feat. WISE, and Kimi ni Aitaku Naru Kara.

Cute cover. The CD+DVD edition is exactly the same except the text is magenta or something.

♦ ♦ ♦

Love is passion. Love is kindness.
Love is trust and love is happiness.
But sometimes love becomes helpless.
And then love makes you jealous.

I gotta be honest right now and say that I did not like Kana Nishino at first. When she released her first couple of singles in early 2008, I was annoyed by her high pitched voice. I just thought it didn’t match the kind of music she was singing, which was primarily pop. So I pretty much ignored her from then. Now let’s fast forward to 2009. She finally releases her debut album and I decide to have a listen despite my initial doubts.

Let’s just say that SHE WON ME OVER. =O

LOL But it’s true. I really like her now. I think the main reason is because of her transition into the R&B genre which happened in early 2009, a year after her debut. She still makes pop music but with the release of her 5th single Tookutemo feat. WISE, I thought she finally found something that worked for her. It also helped that her vocals improved too.

Focusing on the album again, LOVE one. is pretty much divided into two categories: upbeat pop and mid-tempo R&B. The earlier singles like I, glowly days, and Style. represent the album’s pop side and I don’t think they’re as bad as I used to think. However, her voice still sounds rough in them. I recommend MAKE UP though since it is the best out of those songs.

The R&B tracks showcase the album’s depressing side. Most of them are sad in some way but I also think that they are the best songs on the album. I absolutely love Life goes on… (my favorite new track) and Kimi ni Aitaku Naru Kara (my favorite A-side). The two exceptions are doll and candy which are both upbeat. candy is so silly because of its lyrics about how she compares boys to candy but it’s such a guilty pleasure. I can’t help but love it. =x

After giving this album multiple plays, I must say that it has grown on me a lot. There are a lot of catchy tunes on LOVE one. and Nishino’s voice can be good if she applies it correctly. That’s why I think the R&B flavored tracks are among the best on the album. If you compare them to her debut material, there is a considerable difference in quality. She also sounds a lot better too. With this album, I see (and hear!) nothing but improvement from her as she begins the next chapter of her career.

Pros: Kana + R&B = GOLD
Cons: Approach the early material with caution!

BASICALLY…get it, Kana! A solid debut album.

Overall Rating

4 stars

Tracklisting

1. *Prologue* ~Kirari~
2. Tookutemo feat. WISE (遠くても)
3. doll
4. Girlfriend
5. Kimi no Koe wo feat. VERBAL (m-flo) (君の声を)
6. Style.
7. Life goes on…
8. I
9. candy
10. MAKE UP
11. glowly days
12. celtic
13. Kimi ni Aitaku Naru Kara (君に会いたくなるから)
14. *Epilogue* ~LOVE one.~

Note: My favorite tracks are highlighted in blue!

 

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. you just got me to give her a try now =]

  2. […] Kana Nishino – LOVE one. « Beyond the Sea ~ The Style. Edition. […]

  3. I just got into Kana’s stuff because of your review, and I LOVE “Kimi ni Aitaku Naru kara”. So thanks! :]

  4. Gave the whole album a try. Loved everything off of it. EVERYTHING!! I is really nice >.> Except for when Kana hits that weird note when she says “I”

  5. omg Really? <3 Glad you enjoyed the album. I'm just spreading the Kana love. lol


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

