Thelma Aoyama – Emotions

October 20, 2009 at 11:30 AM | Posted in Thelma Aoyama | 2 Comments
Tags:


The cover of the CD only edition

Emotions is Thelma Aoyama’s 2nd studio album and it was released on September 9, 2009. The album reached #11 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 29,851 copies.

Thelma has such classy covers (minus ONE WAY lol). I’m liking the 3D effect going on too.

♦ ♦ ♦

Keep in mind that FIVE singles were released prior to this album but only TWO of them actually appear on it. The first three singles Nando mo, Mamoritai Mono, and Daikkirai Demo Arigatou are on LOVE! ~THELMA LOVESONG COLLECTION~ which was released earlier this year. Honestly, that “album” was a total gimmick and just another excuse to put her huge hit song Soba ni Iru ne on another CD. Okay, I’m done ranting. XD

But I digress since those first 3 singles wouldn’t have fit that well into Emotions anyway. When things come down to it, Thelma Aoyama’s official sophomore effort is a lot better than her debut album DIARY. I thought that album was okay and I only liked a couple tracks off it. Even though I wasn’t really impressed with her debut, it still showed that Aoyama had a lot of potential so I kept my eye on her. It wasn’t until she released Todoketai… feat. KEN THE 390, the first single off Emotions, that I really began to like her. It just got better with the next single Wasurenai yo, which was very good as well.

So the singles were pretty amazing (Todoketai… feat. KEN THE 390 is definitely my favorite track on the album) but how about the new material? Well…some are good while others are pretty forgettable. I have seen varying opinions concerning the new tracks but for me, the ones that stood out the most were the following:

  • I’m Sorry, one of the more upbeat songs on the album. The chorus is catchy and Thelma’s vocals are stronger here.
  • Aoyama’s cover of the popular m-flo song come again (retitled WANNA COME AGAIN). It also features VERBAL. I liked her version more than the original since it sounds less boring and has nice synth.
  • I have a soft spot for LOOK. It’s very catchy and has a prominent R&B vibe compared to other tracks.
  • The sentimental ballad Cinderella Story. It’s a very nice way to end the album and the song itself is very personal to Aoyama. When you think about it, her sudden rise to fame is like a “Cinderella story”.

As for the remaining tracks…they’re nice but extremely ordinary. It’s like they all have the basic pop song formula but with an extra beat or something. I didn’t see that much effort put into them besides Aoyama’s appealing vocals.

Pros: A big step up from DIARY. I could actually listen to all of Emotions in one setting!
Cons: There are typical songs that sound underproduced (the mid-tempo tracks mainly).

BASICALLY…even with its faults, I get “good emotions” from this album.

Overall Rating

4 stars

Tracklisting

1. Intro
2. Wasurenai yo (忘れないよ)
3. Happiness
4. Futari no Yakusoku no Hi (二人の約束の日)
5. I’m Sorry
6. KEEP ON
7. Sunao ni Narenakute (素直になれなくて)
8. Todoketai… feat. KEN THE 390 (届けたい・・・)
9. Baby, I love you
10. LOOK
11. WANNA COME AGAIN feat. VERBAL (m-flo)
12. Cinderella Story

Note: My favorite tracks are highlighted in blue!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Thelma Aoyama – Emotions « Beyond the Sea ~ The Style. Edition. […]

  2. I like the cover too. ^_^

    I haven’t listened to anything from her yet. Maybe someday I will…


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

