alan – Swear

November 13, 2009 at 6:28 PM | Posted in alan | 6 Comments
Tags:


The cover of the CD+DVD edition

Swear is alan’s 11th single and it was released on November 4, 2009. The single reached #35 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 2,910 copies.

The covers aren’t bad…but alan is wearing Stephanie’s short shorts. D:

♦ ♦ ♦

I’m all for alan coming out of her comfort zone (ballads ballads ballads!) but Swear doesn’t cut it. It’s a pretty bland attempt at an upbeat pop song in my opinion. Sure, it’s unique for her but even then, the song isn’t that great. The music sounds typical and uninteresting as well. I wasn’t feeling anything because nothing really happens. I thought previous upbeat tracks like BRAVE and even Kaze no Tegami were better.

I don’t feel the same way for the B-side though. At least Beauty has something going for it. While Swear was so orthodox and plain, this song actually has some flavor in it. The various beats and acoustics are pleasant. alan’s vocals don’t sound dead either. For me, this was the superior track.

Pros: Beauty stands out.
Cons: Swear is so BLAH. *dozes off*

BASICALLY…I’d rather have another ballad. =x

Overall Rating

3 stars

Tracklisting

1. Swear
2. Beauty
3. Swear (Instrumental)
4. Beauty (Instrumental)

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. yeah. :/ Makes me want to swear at how crappy it is.

  2. i pretty much hated this single

  3. […] alan – Swear « Beyond the Sea ~ The Style. Edition. […]

  4. I agree, it isn’t her best a-side but I think I may like this song better then her previous single to be honest.

  5. I don’t think Swear is a bad song at all… but it’s definitely not a standout for alan. Props to her for at least trying something different, eh?

  6. Lol, I guess I’m the only one who loves Swear O_o


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

