Stephanie – Colors of my Voice

November 30, 2009 at 8:33 PM | Posted in Stephanie | 5 Comments
Tags:


The cover of the CD+DVD edition

Colors of my Voice is Stephanie’s 2nd album and it was released on June 17, 2009. The album reached #102 on the Oricon Weekly Charts. It was preceded by 3 singles: Changin’, Pride ~A Part of Me~ feat. SRM, and FUTURE.

Why is that pineapple there? It’s so random!

♦ ♦ ♦

Oh Stephanie! I know that I have given this girl a lot of flack because I’m a superficial jerk but I like her now…and it’s all thanks to this album! I did listen to her self-titled debut album earlier this year and that sort of sparked my interest. It was a decent release but I thought it could have been better in the music department. She definitely proved that she could pull off the vocal acrobatics though due to her constant use of the whistle register.

Anyway, I think of Colors of my Voice as a much improved version of her debut album. It pretty much has the same variety but I thought the songs were better this time around. It really shows her versatility because at first, I wrote her off as a “ballad singer”. There were some small surprises that I’ll mention later too. Here’s the lowdown:

  • Speaking of the ballads, there are 3 of them. The singles Changin’ (a duet with Roma Tanaka) and Pride ~A Part of Me~ feat. SRM (a duet with Hikari Mitsushima) are the “epic tracks”. The new track a song for you is less grandiose but still nicely done.
  • THE ROCK SONGS! I was very surprised with the rock songs on her debut album because they were actually quite good. I thought it would be an odd combination but it really works for her once she gets the power vocals going. It’s too bad you get less of them here. FUTURE is the lighter, bouncier song while Kindan no Knockout is more aggressive.
  • Rounding things out are the pop songs and they are more frequent (instead of rock songs! *sad face*). The B-sides Together and KISSES are okay but they get overshadowed by the new tracks. The two that stood out are Kotoba Nanka Iranai Hodo ni, which sort of had an R&B vibe, and Forever. The latter track was Stephanie’s first foray into a dance oriented sound and provided for an interesting listen. It’s also in English.

The thing that I liked the most about Colors of my Voice were Stephanie’s vocals. On her debut album, I felt that she relied too much on using the whistle register. She can sing, don’t get me wrong, but her whistle notes came off as a novelty (though you could argue that’s what makes her stand out, I suppose). Let’s just say that she would whip out those whistle notes during the most inappropriate times. I’m glad that she tones it down on this album because like the title implies, she shows off more sides of her voice. To me, it proves that she’s more capable as a singer.

Pros: As a whole, it’s an improvement over her debut album. None of the tracks are relatively bad either.
Cons: It needs more rock songs! Take off those B-sides, plz.

BASICALLY…I wonder what she will do next. I’ll be keeping an eye out.

Overall Rating

4 stars

Tracklisting

1. Kotoba Nanka Iranai Hodo ni (言葉なんかいらないほどに)
2. Changin’ / Stephanie feat. Roma Tanaka
3. FUTURE
4. Kindan no Knockout (禁断のKnockout)
5. Together
6. Forever
7. Pride ~A Part of Me~ feat. SRM
8. KISSES
9. Kizuna (キズナ)
10. a song for you
11. Daisuki na Minna e. feat. fans (大好きなみんなへ。)

Note: My favorite tracks are highlighted in blue!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Kizuna’s my fav…

    I like Changin’ better w/out the Muppets guy…

    Nice review hope she does more rock & r&b tinged songs in the FUTURE…

  2. Oh gosh.
    I remember being OBSESSED with these girl.

    I really gotta get back on track with her.

  3. Lol I balked at the cover for a good minute when I first saw it ’cause it’s so random. I do really like this album though. I’m glad you decided to give her a try.

  4. omg the pineapple is so sexy compared to Stephanie <3

  5. I gotta admit.
    This cover is so adorable.

    That pineapple makes me think of Super Mario Sunshine.
    XD

    And I think Stephanie looks gorgeous (i’ve always found her pretty), but it’s just the way she’s presenting herself here that is the turn off for me.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

