2009 In Review ~Albums + Ripping Things Up~

January 1, 2010 at 9:36 PM | Posted in ~Features! | 9 Comments


PART 5

HAPPY NEW YEAR, EVERYONE!

First of all, I want to say that I LOOOOVE whoever made this manip. It had me loling for hours. A big thanks to some random member at ONTD for posting it. 

That was Namie’s reaction when she found out that Susan Boyle beat her on the World Charts. =(

Along with my favorite albums, I will also have some random categories to finish off the post. Once again, these will be in no particular order but I did divide the albums section into 2 categories: a lower tier and an upper tier. The upper tier contains my top 5 albums of the year!

♦ ♦ ♦

THE BEST!

ALBUMS

The Lower Tier


Ayumi Hamasaki – NEXT LEVEL
LOL. Why are you looking at me like that? It was a fun album. =x
Top Tracks: Sparkle | Rule | LOVE ‘n’ HATE


BENI – Bitter & Sweet
An excellent “re-debut” album.
Top Tracks: Kiss Kiss Kiss | nice & slow | Beautiful World


Rie fu – URBAN ROMANTIC
A great mix of the old and new for Rie fu.
Top Tracks: Romantic | PRESENT | She Can’t Say No ~No to Ienai Onna~


Perfume –
It’s GAME but without the boring second half!
Top Tracks: One Room Disco | Kiss and Music | edge (⊿-mix)


Koda Kumi – TRICK
This would have been perfect without the cute songs and bling bling bling.
Top Tracks: TABOO | show girl | JUST THE WAY YOU ARE

The Upper Tier


Yuna Ito – DREAM
It’s easily her best album to date. It contains her best upbeat songs too.
Top Tracks: Ima Demo Aitai yo… | trust you | LOVE MACHINE GUN


KOKIA – KOKIA∞AKIKO ~balance~
Another flawless release. I loved the variety on this album.
Top Tracks: INFINITY | Usu Momoiro no Kisetsu | usaghi


MiChi – UP TO YOU
Most infectious album of the year. No doubt about it!
Top Tracks: PROMiSE | KiSS KiSS xxx | YOU


Namie Amuro – PAST<FUTURE
The queen! *bows down*
Top Tracks: FAST CAR | WILD | The Meaning Of Us


alan – Voice of EARTH
You know, before her “Ayufication”.
Top Tracks: Natsukashii Mirai ~longing future~ | RED CLIFF ~Shin Sen~ | Together

Albums That Just Missed The Top 10
Angela Aki – ANSWER
BONNIE PINK – ONE
Kana Nishino – LOVE one.
Do As Infinity – ETERNAL FLAME
MISIA – JUST BALLADE

♦ ♦ ♦

THE WORST?
Well, the only album that I really hated this year was Tommy heavenly6’s I KILL MY HEART. Please rename it to I KILL MY FANBASE/CREDIBILITY/SELF. There’s also alan’s my life (The Ayufication of alan, part 2) but it’s only the album’s boring first half that I dislike so much.

WRAPPING THINGS UP: RANDOMNESS!

Other Amazing Album Tracks
Kana Nishino – Life goes on…
BONNIE PINK – Get on the Bus
Angela Aki – ANSWER and Dahlia
Aya Matsuura – Omoi Afurete
Mai Kuraki – touch Me!

Songs That I Shouldn’t Like But I Do Anyway
Koda Kumi – Lick me
Ayumi Hamasaki – Sunrise ~LOVE is ALL~
Kana Nishino – candy
alan – Essence of me
Yuna Ito – BAILA BAILA

Collaborations
The best: Yuna Ito feat. Spontania – Ima Demo Aitai yo…
Runner-up: BoA – UNIVERSE feat. Crystal Kay & VERBAL (m-flo)

The worst: Ai Otsuka×SU from RIP SYLME – aisu×time
Runner-up: Koda Kumi×misono – It’s all Love!

Cover Songs
The best: misono – Urusei Yatsura no Theme ~Lum no Love Song~
Runner-up: Ami Suzuki – Dub-I-Dub

The worst: Sowelu – Time After Time
Runner-up: Angela Aki – Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door (What are you gonna do about it? XD)

Remixes
I’m not big on remixes but my favorite this year was the “8-bits of tears YMCK remix” of Days by Ayumi Hamasaki.

Introductions/Interludes
The best: Koda Kumi – INTRODUCTION FOR TRICK
Runner-up: alan – Tennyo ~interlude~

The worst: Ayumi Hamasaki – Disco-munication (So pointless.)
Runner-up: Thelma Aoyama – Intro (Also very pointless.)

Don’t disappoint me now, 2010.

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I agreed with about 95% of this. Haha I loved your “Songs That I Shouldn’t Like But I Do Anyway” section… they’re such guilty pleasures for me too… esp. “candy.”

    Also “8-bits of tears YMCK remix” was awesome… it sounded more like a retro game sounds than a song but whatever xD

  2. xDDD
    I swear.
    I gotta do this when I’m not so lazy.

    I’m terrified of listening to anything from alan now.
    She’s like my OBSESSION right now, and I don’t want to get to Swear.
    T__T

    The edited picture is effin hilarious though.
    XDDD

  3. You don’t like Ai’s “aisuxtime” and Angela’s “Knocking on Heavens Door”? I love these tracks =O.

    Anyway, cool review. I agree with you on many albums :3.

  4. Yeah. Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door is my least favorite of her covers and I vastly prefer OnexTime over aisuxtime.

  5. I prefer “OnexTime” as well, but I think “aisuxtime” was very fresh and stuff. Something she never did before.

  6. QUOTE:
    “MiChi – UP TO YOU
    Most infectious album of the year. No doubt about it!”
    YA DAMN RIGHT LEX!!!

    I can definitely agree with you about alan Vol.2 though, b/c it SUPER sucked. Honestly though, I didn’t catch on the the supposed “Ayufication”… If she was being Ayumified, you think things would be getting better, NOT worse! …

    Days 8-bits of tears was so damn amazing! <3 <3

    QUOTE:
    "Don’t disappoint me now, 2010."
    I've with you on that!

    Maybe now that you've finished your 2009 YIR, I'll get around to finishing mine! Damn Wii's being keeping me up late at night…

    I feel INSPIRED!! Thank you Lex. And have a great New Year!!!

  7. koda kumi rules! can’t wait for new album universe next month
    http://www.japansugoi.com/wordpress/kumi-koda-new-album-universe-coming-next-month/

  8. That Namie picture is pure win.

    I see you like BENI…I’ve been meaning to try her out for so long, but I’m really lazy. I really do think I’ll give her latest album a listen though.

  9. Lmao, so many good manips out there of that! XD

    Yeaaah for Perfume’s album! :D

    I guess I really ought to check out that Namie album… I’ve seen tons of good reviews about it.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

