Koda Kumi – Can We Go Back

January 22, 2010 at 10:04 AM | Posted in Koda Kumi | 6 Comments
Tags:


The cover of the CD only edition

Can We Go Back is Koda Kumi’s 46th single and it was released on January 20, 2010. The single reached #2 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 31,078 copies.

Gross! This one isn’t as greasy as the CD+DVD edition’s cover if that counts for anything.

♦ ♦ ♦

Koda Kumi + rock = Uhhhhhhhh.
Sometimes it can be good (Ningyo Hime) or a complete and total disaster (Hashire!). As for Can We Go Back, my stance on the song is currently in the middle. It’s a very straight foward song to say the least. The music is loud, in your face, and extremely blunt. Kumi’s vocals follow suit but I didn’t really like it when she started yelling. On a relevant note, it’s also a cover of some Kelly Clarkson song.

The B-side is the complete opposite. Good☆day is a bright and cheery pop song, the kind of thing that Kumi is definitely not a stranger of. This track isn’t that bad even though we’ve heard it all before. I do like that “I’ll be there for you” line.

Pros: Can We Go Back is growing on me!
Cons: But something about this single is annoying.

BASICALLY…Kumi should stick to hot dance songs but I’ll make an exception.

Overall Rating

3½ stars

Tracklisting

1. Can We Go Back
2. Good☆day
3. Can We Go Back (Instrumental)
4. Good☆day (Instrumental)

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m a big fan of Kelly Clarkson and I think Kuu did a good job with her vocals on this cover. It’s pretty true to the original but she still gives it her own spin.

    However, I think the instrumental is off. It’s not quite up to tempo and it drags the whole arrangement down. But I agree with you, it does grow on you. It was a little jarring at first to hear one of my favorite songs off of KC’s new album covered by a Japanese artist.

  2. I think if I ever did listen to Kelly’s version, I would hate Kumi’s, so it is a good thing I don’t even listen to English Music anymore. She needs another Selfish if she is going to do a rock song, maybe even a song like HURRY UP!.

    As for Good☆day though, all I have to say is… BEST SONG THIS ERA (besides ECSTASY….). XD

  3. so agree Kumi’s either a pop tart crazy in some of vids, a gentle woman in her ballads, or a complete skank in her dance vids so this one is a fail for her

  4. “Can We Go Back” is in the middle for me as well. In my opinion, it’s lacking the big OOMPH we need for a great Kuu rock song.

    “Good☆day” is excellent though. I wouldn’t mind if she made an album full of cute up-tempo stuff, because right now that’s sounding better than UNIVERSE :x

  5. i think it’s her worst single I hope her new album aint a hot mess.

  6. what I don’t like about Koda Kumi when it comes to rock songs is that she tends to go nuts with the way she sings.
    It’s all over the place and crap.
    >.>
    I only noticed this when i compared Kumis version to Kellys much cleaner version.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

