Aya Kamiki – INDIVIDUAL EMOTION

February 7, 2010 at 1:16 PM | Posted in Aya Kamiki | 5 Comments
Tags:


The cover of the limited edition

INDIVIDUAL EMOTION is Aya Kamiki’s 4th album and it was released on January 27, 2010. The album reached #23 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 7,283 copies. It’s also her first album on the avex trax label. The limited edition comes with a 2nd disc titled AYA KAMIKI Fan Best containing B-sides and album tracks voted by fans.

I like Aya’s ~avex makeover~! She looks less like an Avril clone now.

♦ ♦ ♦

Don’t fret, Aya Kamiki fans! Just because she’s switched labels doesn’t mean that her music style has changed. If anything, the differences between INDIVIDUAL EMOTION and her first 3 albums are pretty subtle. The aggressive rock sound is still there but the pop influences are stronger. If you have heard the album’s only single, W-B-X ~W-Boiled Extreme~, then you know what I mean. I don’t think this is a bad thing at all since I think this is her most interesting album to date.

If you’re not familiar with the music on her original label GIZA studio, she mainly performed songs within the pop rock genre, sometimes incorporating elements like alternative rock and even punk. In some ways, this album does mark a departure to a more mainstream sound. Songs like The Light (the album’s main promotional track) and TO-THE-ATTACK feature prominent synth in their arrangements. Like I said, the change is there but it’s not all that significant.

A majority of the album is still composed of great old fashioned rock songs though. These songs sound renovated and feature a noticeable “face lift” when compared to her past works. EMPTY, Break my day, and 248 Mile are all pretty awesome (the last track I mentioned being my favorite of the 3). There’s also sokubaku LOVE and CLAP YOUR HANDS, 2 tracks that have a gutsy attitude to them. Lastly, Dear my… and I wish in your dreams balance things out by being the album’s slower paced songs. They may not be as energetic as the rest of the album but they’re definitely bold.

From beginning to end, INDIVIDUAL EMOTION is an upbeat thrill ride that doesn’t let up. It stays intruiging and I found myself enjoying nearly every track. Most Japanese pop rock albums have a boring side with tracks that end up sounding the same. That is not the case here. Aya Kamiki has pretty much revitalized her career with this album. It’s a very fun listen.

Pros: There are so many good tracks. Just listen to everything!
Cons: The purists might think that Kamiki has “sold out” by switching to avex. Get over it!

BASICALLY…I love the new Aya! She delivered the goods and then some.

Overall Rating

4½ stars

Tracklisting

1. introduction ~INDIVIDUAL EMOTION~
2. The Light
3. TO-THE-ATTACK
4. EMPTY
5. Break my day
6. Dear my…
7. sokubaku LOVE
8. CLAP YOUR HANDS
9. 248 Mile
10. I wish in your dreams
11. W-B-X ~W-Boiled Extreme~ / Aya Kamiki w TAKUYA

Note: My favorite tracks are highlighted in blue!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You liked it that much huh? Guess I have to try it now. haha

  2. I’ve never listened to any of her music until I read your review for her single. I downloaded this album when it leaked and I love it. Great review.

  3. I don’t think she’s sold out, more like she’s refined her style. I liked the album, but I still don’t think anything she’s produced has ever matched up to Secret Code. I’ll keep my hopes up though.

  4. You did a really good review
    Nothing more to say.

  5. Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular article!
    It is the little changes that will make the most important changes.
    Thanks a lot for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

