Mai Kuraki – Eien Yori Nagaku / Drive me crazy

March 18, 2010 at 9:25 PM | Posted in Mai Kuraki | 3 Comments
Tags:


The cover of the CD+DVD edition

Eien Yori Nagaku / Drive me crazy (永遠より ながく/Drive me crazy) is Mai Kuraki’s 33rd single and it was released on March 3, 2010. The single reached #4 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 23, 240 copies.

I like it when Mai-K does things like wear makeup. lol She is actually quite pretty.

♦ ♦ ♦

Eien Yori Nagaku is WEIRD and it just confuses me. XD With its “happy-go-lucky” atmosphere, the song has a campy feel with lyrics relating to marriage. But the main reason why I said the song is weird is because the music sounds so disjointed. The chorus, while being pretty catchy, sticks out because it’s so different from everything else. The verses are okay but when that chorus arrives…it sounds like a completely other song. I’ve heard fans say it’s reminiscent of Winter Bells and I can agree with that.

Originally, this single was only supposed to have Eien Yori Nagaku as the main A-side and the next track as just a B-side. It’s a good thing that Drive me crazy did get the A-side treatment since it is way better. This is an upbeat R&B-ish track with aggressive vocals and unlike the first A-side, there is actually FLOW!

Pros: Drive me crazy is the superior track for sure.
Cons: Eien Yori Nagaku is a hot mess. A hot (yet catchy) mess. I’m torn, bbz!

BASICALLY…a hit and a miss for Mai-K.

Overall Rating

3½ stars

Tracklisting

1. Eien Yori Nagaku (永遠より ながく)
2. Drive me crazy
3. Eien Yori Nagaku -Instrumental-
4. Drive me crazy -Instrumental-

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. wait, what happens when she doesn’t have make up on O.o anyways, great review, but i actually found eien yori nagaku to be more interesting (?) drive me crazy made more sense (lol) but was ummm slow? I guess that depends on ppl who like layed back music as opposed to ppl like me who loves dance and pop songs hehe~

  2. Ugggggh, Mai needs to retire, imo.

  3. why should she retire…? I mean, there might be more nice songs sh can compose…I am a solid fan of her and I know that even if Drive Me Crazy was somewhat a miss on her part…still, it has its time…although Mai should also have some new presentations…I guess


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

