Thelma Aoyama – Kaeru Basho

March 20, 2010 at 10:16 PM | Posted in Thelma Aoyama | 2 Comments
Tags:

Kaeru Basho (帰る場所) is Thelma Aoyama’s 9th single and it was released on March 3, 2010. The single reached #63 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 1,326 copies (oh dear). The title track was used as the theme song for the new Doraemon movie.

“I promise never to flop again! =D”

♦ ♦ ♦

I had such a great nap and it’s all thanks to Kaeru Basho! Seriously, the song is not interesting. It’s just pretty music and nothing much else. Yeah yeah, I know the lyrics are touching and shit but I don’t care. Even Aoyama sounded bored when she was singing. I’m sorry to say that simplicity didn’t work this time around.

I thought the B-side Anata ga Kiechai Sou de was better because it wasn’t as boring. It helped that there was a beat and Aoyama’s vocals were more enthusiastic. Even so, I don’t really remember it. At least Kaeru Basho had a redeeming chorus.

Pros: The music was nice even though it was lacking any real hooks.
Cons: “zzzZZZzzzzzZZZ” Her last single Fall in Love was so much better.

BASICALLY…I can see why this single flopped. Sorry, Thelma!

Overall Rating

3 stars

Tracklisting

1. Kaeru Basho (帰る場所)
2. Anata ga Kiechai Sou de (あなたが消えちゃいそうで)
3. Kaeru Basho (Instrumental)
4. Anata ga Kiechai Sou de (Instrumental)

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I like “Kaeru Basho”, but yeah, you are right. It was a boring single. But what do you mean by “I can why this single flopped”. Do you meant “I can UNDERSTAND why this single flopped” :D?

  2. Well she’s set for life with her Soulja duet song and her other song so flopping hard is ok for her I guess heh. I would like to see more success from her though she’s very “real” and talented than most JPOP artists.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

