BENI – bye bye

March 24, 2010 at 4:37 PM | Posted in BENI | 6 Comments
Tags:

bye bye is BENI’s 15th single and it was released on March 10, 2010. The single reached #57 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 1,171 copies.

What a random cover. Her trendy trenchcoat + the birds = ???

♦ ♦ ♦

OMG YES MY PRAYERS HAVE BEEN ANSWERED! An upbeat A-side from BENI! =D

I’ve been waiting for this and bye bye didn’t disappoint. I instantly liked the song on the first listen because it starts off with a strong, catchy chorus (itsumo no bye bye!). That gets followed by clapping beats, synth, and a little piano. It’s a nice change from all the other A-sides and like I said when I reviewed the last single Sign, I was growing weary of the mid-tempo stuff. Thank you, BENI! ♥

The pace doesn’t let up when the B-side arrives. Stylish is also upbeat but features more electronic elements next to the clapping and whiplash beats. Just like in bye bye, BENI’s vocals remain energetic and I wasn’t finding myself bored after multiple listens.

The 3rd track is a DJ HASEBE remix of Sign and I was expecting the ~same old, same old~ from him. However, this is the most unique remix I have heard since it doesn’t have the typical “hip hop” facelift like the other ones. Besides being more upbeat the original, the remix adds a nice drumbeat but you can still hear the piano and strings.

Pros: This is her most exciting single to date.
Cons: I don’t really have any. I thoroughly enjoyed everything.

BASICALLY…my fandom for BENI is at an all-time high. Get it, girl!

Overall Rating

4½ stars

Tracklisting

1. bye bye
2. Stylish
3. Sign (DJ HASEBE REMIX) (サイン)
4. bye bye (Instrumental)

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I am loving BENI more and more. I’m a wee bit embarrassed to say that I liked Kira Kira better than Bye Bye. Hahaha. I think this song will grow on me the more I listen to it though. I hope she keeps releasing even better stuff too!

  2. I need to get on this and check it out

  3. I still refuse to listen. :P

    Like the interesting cover though.

  4. Another awesome single from BENI.
    Universal has done her soooooo much justice.
    :)
    nice review!

  5. Two top notch A-sides for the next album! I prefer “Gon’ luv u” more than “Stylish”, but they are both great b-sides. Needless to say I can’t wait for her next single in May!

  6. It’s really a shame that her sales are so low, this is her best single yet.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

