JASMINE – JEALOUS

April 14, 2010 at 10:42 AM | Posted in JASMINE | 5 Comments
Tags:

JEALOUS is JASMINE’s 4th single and it was released on April 7, 2010. The single reached #20 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 2,732 copies.

This is my favorite cover so far. Her outfit is crazy!

♦ ♦ ♦

The 2nd single in her 3 month release spree, Jealous is a sleek and cool R&B track. The song isn’t “in your face” like This Is Not A Game was but it still manages to be very catchy (jealous is so dangerous ♪). I also enjoyed the chill-out vibe of the music and that awesome JASMINE attitude is there when she sings. Some people have said that her music reminds them of Utada Hikaru’s older material but I don’t really agree with that.

The B-side is a cover of Hezekiah Walker’s I Need You to Survive. Yep, it’s another gospel song but I don’t have a problem with that. A mix of traditional gospel and R&B, I liked this track and JASMINE’s vocals are pleasant and controlled. I could have done without that annoying vocoder in the background though. It was distracting.

Pros: If you don’t like the A-side, you’re just a jealous hater~
Cons: Get rid of that vocoder in the B-side! So unnecessary.

BASICALLY…JASMINE is one of the most interesting Japanese artists at the moment.

Overall Rating

4 stars

Tracklisting

1. Jealous
2. I Need You to Survive

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. this single was the shit, i will admit!

  2. I like both tracks a lot, but I prefer the B-side. And somehow I like the vocoder lol.

  3. CAN’T WAIT UNTIL HER ALBUM.

  4. Loved loved loved the a-side and the cover! I thought the song was a great listen.

  5. I’m not liking her two recent b-sides. >:\ Not a fan of the whole gospel song thing.
    Although the cover is smex and the a-side is so classy~ <3


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

