JASMINE – DREAMIN’

May 16, 2010 at 7:11 PM | Posted in JASMINE | 10 Comments
Tags:

DREAMIN’ is JASMINE’s 5th single and it was released on May 12, 2010. The single reached #38 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 2,546 copies.

I’m pretty sure I’ve seen this outfit somewhere on Sailor Moon

♦ ♦ ♦

I’m rolling my eyes at you people who have been complaining about this song. Being her first ballad A-side, I think Dreamin’ is great. With an gospel inspired sound, it’s not your conventional Japanese ballad (besides some of Mika Nakashima’s stuff lol). I also felt that the song fully showcased JASMINE’s vocal capabilities because her voice was powerful, yet controlled. I was pretty impressed.

After such a sweet song, the transition into L.I.P.S. is kind of funny. The lyrics are funny too. I was cracking up at the “lip gross” and “tasty kimchee” lines. However, I forgive her because the music is hot. Similar to This Is Not A Game, the song mixes R&B and with some synth to make a fiery combination. Overall, this is JASMINE at her most sassy and it’s her best B-side since Koi.

There’s also a BUZZER BEATS remix of sad to say that appears as track 3. It’s mellow like the original but includes more beats. As far as remixes go, I thought this was pretty standard and nothing spectacular. At least it sounded nice. 

Pros: I think this single had what her others lacked…balance!
Cons: L.I.P.S. is silly but whatever.

BASICALLY…now it’s time for an album!

Overall Rating

4½ stars

Tracklisting

1. Dreamin’
2. L.I.P.S.
3. sad to say [BUZZER BEATS Remix]

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It’s official you’re a Jasmine stan too.

  2. i like this single, even though “jealous” and “no more” are her best singles up to date.

  3. The picture at the end of the review is so HQ and pretty *.* I must hear L.I.P.S though ahaha. I haven’t gotten around to downloading the single.

  4. If by “silly” you mean “sublime”, then yeah you nailed “L.I.P.S”, dude. *loves the touch of Bollywood in the “curry” part too* :D

  5. lmao @ the Sailor Moon comment.

    Great review of a great single. I’m happy she balanced this single out more, as well.
    It’s hard to NOT be a Jasmine stan, lol

  6. “say to say [BUZZER BEATS Remix]” xD
    I love this gurl. <3 My favorite out of all the "R&B" betches.

  7. LOL I didn’t even see that. >_>

  8. Hot dang, its Neo Queen Serenity on the cover! lol! You always have me in stitches!

  9. I think I’ll have to check out the rest of the single for the “lip gross” 8D lol!

  10. omigosh, have you heard her singing Dreamin’ live? it’s absolutely breathtaking. i think it was even more powerful than ayaka O.o


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

