Koda Kumi – Gossip Candy

July 17, 2010 at 1:48 PM | Posted in Koda Kumi | 15 Comments
Tags:


The cover of the CD+DVD edition

Gossip Candy is Koda Kumi’s 47th single and it was released on July 7, 2010. The single reached #4 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 60,027 copies.

What a colorful cover. The text stinks though.

♦ ♦ ♦

It’s that time of the year again and Koda Kumi dishes out a summer single. The first track is Lollipop, a sexy mid-tempo song. Instead of dance beats and synth in songs like TABOO and Physical thing, this track is on the slower side and features an R&B sound. I have to admit the chorus is the best part since it’s so catchy but the line about her dodging bullets cracks me up. Anyway, it’s my favorite track on the single.

Then we have the “fishbowl songs”. They feature the same rockish arrangement and melody but are different in key. Inside Fishbowl is in a higher key and Kumi’s vocals are so annoying. She is literally shrieking the chorus because it’s so high pitched. I thought Outside Fishbowl was better because her vocals were more tolerable thanks to the lower key.

For you is the ballad of the single and it’s boring. I thought faraway was dull but this is even worse. With acoustics, light beats, and water drops, this song didn’t get my attention at all. It’s way too long as well. First pressings of the single come with a cover of the classic disco song Got To Be Real. Kumi’s version is surprisingly good and mainly because the Engrish is minimal.

When it comes to Koda Kumi’s summer singles, this one has to be my least favorite. The only song that I liked was Lollipop and I thought the rest was just mediocre. When it comes to the fishbowl songs, Outside Fishbowl is the better of the two but it’s still annoying. In the end, I’d rather take last year’s 3 SPLASH over Gossip Candy. What a letdown.

Pros: Only Lollipop is the standout track.
Cons: Inside Fishbowl and For you are baaaaaad.

BASICALLY…I’ll have a lollipop but not a fishbowl.

Overall Rating

3 stars

Tracklisting

1. Lollipop
2. Inside Fishbowl
3. Outside Fishbowl
4. For you
5. Got To Be Real [First pressing bonus track]

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love the three first songs and Got To Be Real is pretty good too

  2. The cover makes me think ‘Korean-Pop’…

  3. Lollipop, For You and the two Fishbowl are very very bad!I like only Got To Be Real. For me this is an horrible single.

  4. This has got to be one of her worst singles in recent memory. It’s really bad and has almost nothing interesting about it. Only Lollipop is good, the rest is annoying and a pain to listen to.

  5. agree lolipop was a pretty great song but as a single it fails to live up to last year

  6. inside fishbowl slaysss

  7. Wow you gave misono a higher rating than Kumi, that was unexpected. I love misono though. :D

  8. lulz As far as I’m concerned, misono’s having a slightly better year than Kumi.

  9. Oh Kuu…it’s so hard to think you’re the same gal that did “TABOO” XD

    Anyways, LEEEEEX….alan’s full single leaked

  10. I loved all the tracks except for For you and Got To Be Real. Don’t get the hate for the Fishbowl’s tbh :)

  11. i actually kinda like this single XD lol, but i do think Kuu can do better, i loved when she did TABOO.

  12. Her face looks really photoshopped (and poorly) in the cover. Is that just me?

  13. I think the Fishbowl songs were better than Hashire and Lick me at any rate. Ecstasy is still better than Lollipop imo though.

  14. I loved Lollipop & Outside Fishbowl!

  15. I enjoyed Lollipop, but Inside Fishbowl was by FAR my favourite. xD That and “Got To Be Real.” Normally, I don’t like covers, but Koochan pretty much nailed it. Plus, at her UNIVERSE concert, I was the only one that knew the original and knew the lyrics. xD The girl next to me was just like, “WTF?! American….” It was great.

    Plus, I liked Outside Fishbowl’s ‘Shake It Up’ and ‘Ningyo-Hime’ feel.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

