BONNIE PINK – Kane wo Narashite

August 26, 2008 at 7:07 PM | Posted in BONNIE PINK | 7 Comments
Tags:

BONNIE PINK - Kane wo NarashiteTracklisting
1. Kane wo Narashite (鐘を鳴らして)
2. Pump It Up!
3. A Perfect Sky (Björn Remix)
4. Kane wo Narashite (Instrumental)
5. Pump It Up! (Instrumental)

This is BONNIE PINK’s 24th single and it was released on August 6, 2008. The single reached #9 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 32,087 copies. The title track was used as the theme song for the Japanese release of the video game Tales of Vesperia.

Earlier in April, BONNIE PINK released her first worldwide digital single titled Ring A Bell for the video game Tales of Vesperia. The song was in English and I thought that it was a pretty good pop rock track. I liked the various electric guitar riffs and the upbeat nature of the music was nice and steady too. Kane wo Narashite is the Japanese version and it was written AFTER Ring A Bell so she translated the lyrics and did some changes to make it sound more cohesive in the language. I think that she did a good job on that part, give or take a few clunky spots.

The B-side is something completely new from BONNIE PINK and I loved it. Pump It Up! has an awesome 80s dance inspired sound filled with catchy synth riffs and beats. The chorus is fantastic and I liked the muffled voice in the background that said Let me hear you. The song as a whole is very infectious and the melody is something that hasn’t left my head.

As much as I love A Perfect Sky, the Björn Remix is absolutely terrible. It was originally included as a bonus track on the Swedish release of the Thinking Out Loud album and now it’s on this single for some reason. I pretty much hated everything about this remix but the newly added background vocals were the worst thing about it. They’re just so annoying! The music is really corny because of the awful clapping beat and synth lines too. Honestly, I feel like deleting it off my computer.

Overall Rating

4 stars

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Excellent review as always! I loved Pump It Up! too, such high quality material. And I nearly died listening to that remix…so horrible.

  2. I actually enjoyed the remix; I thought it was fun and upbeat. My beef is with Kane wo Narashite, which I thought was pretty choppy and awkward-sounding compared to the English version :\

  3. I can see why some people would not like the A Perfect Sky remix. It’s style is similar to the band Bjorn belongs to, Pete Bjorn and John and I can see a lot of J-Pop fans not liking them for their quirky strange style of music. I personally really liked the remix, although it may not be my favorite, but for some reason I wasn’t feeling Pump It Up!. I found it to be way too 80’s for my taste. Sometimes I wish Bonnie would go back to her more acoustic sound. I kinda miss it, not that I don’t like her now.

  4. I think this single is awesome. I love the remix of A Perfect Sky much more than the original version… Pump it up! is fun and it’s nice to hear new sounds from Bonnie… And Kane wo Narashite is a masterpiece! 5 stars! :-D

  5. Yeah! I’m looking forward to hearing this now. :D

  6. I agree completely with Curvy1988. There’s just some artists who have a style that I miss so much (ELT – more synthy for example). Kane wo Narashite was a little choppy when I heard it the few times I did. LOL I only listened to it a few times because I’m going to be hearing Ring A Bell a LOT once I get Vesperia.

  7. wonderful put up, very informative. I ponder why the opposite experts of this sector do not realize this.
    You should proceed your writing. I am sure, you have a huge readers’ base already!


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.