alan – Diamond / Over the clouds

February 14, 2010 at 4:09 PM | Posted in alan | 15 Comments
Tags:


The cover of the regular CD only edition

Diamond / Over the clouds is alan’s 12th single and it was released on February 3, 2010. The single reached #20 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 5,096 copies. The first track was used as the 2nd ending theme song for the anime InuYasha: The Final Act while the 2nd track was the opening theme song for the video game GOD EATER.

THAT’S NOT ALAN!!111!! Whoever that is, she is hot! ♥

♦ ♦ ♦

The Ayufication of alan continues with part 3: Diamond. M anyone?
Seriously guys, I get HUGE Ayumi Hamasaki vibes from this “remake” of Essence of me. If you remember, it was that funky dance track from her my life album. I liked Essence of me for being different and now that it got the star treatment as a single, it became pretty generic. It makes her first Ayu clone song Kaze no Tegami sound unique. The song as a whole isn’t that great anyway and I’ll be sticking with Essence of me. Thanks but no thanks.

Now onto the 2nd A-side. This is what I was waiting for! Over the clouds is HOT and actually has a distinct sound to it. alan has been experimenting and I think she’s finally got something! The problem I had with most of the stuff on my life was that it was boring and lazy. With its heavy beats, synth, and stringwork, this song is the complete opposite. I wouldn’t mind hearing more of this stuff.

Pros: Over the clouds is awesome. I approve!
Cons: Get out of here, Diamond. What a waste of space.

BASICALLY…alan is trying to be a pop star? Oh my word!

Overall Rating

3½ stars

Tracklisting (CD+DVD and regular CD only editions)

1. Diamond
2. Over the clouds
3. Diamond (Instrumental)
4. Over the clouds (Instrumental)

Note: The limited CD only edition’s tracklisting reverses the order of the 2 A-sides. Over the clouds becomes the 1st track and Diamond becomes the 2nd.

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Even though “Diamond” isn’t in the least bit unique I still really like it, even more than “Essence of Me.” I didn’t like “Over the Clouds” as much a “Diamond” – but they’re both great!

  2. Amazing review! I reviewed the exact same single yesterday on my blog, and had many of the same feelings. I totally got the same Ayu-vibes. Seriously great review. I love your blog.

  3. i love both, but I’m not a huge fan of her ayufication. srsly i miss the old alan so much T_T.

  4. Over the clouds is AMAZING. I wouldn’t mind a completely electro alan in the future.

  5. I totally agree with Over the Clouds. The song is great! Diamond is alright. I do miss the old alan though, but her music right now is still good.

  6. NO. NO AYUFICATION. I downloaded my life, but I’m too scared to listen to it because I don’t want to hear alan being derivative. Please tell me she at least still has the wail.

  7. I really enjoyed “over the clouds,” but I really would like to hear some more traditional stuff from her in the future.

  8. You really only hear the wailing in 3 or 4 songs. The ending of Kuon no Kawa, the beginning of BALLAD, and in the middle of Essence of me and Nobody knows but me.

  9. Over the Clouds is fantastic, I love it ^_^ I wouldn’t mind hearing more songs by alan like it. I liked Diamond but it didn’t seem to be anything amazingly special, I guess because it was so Ayu.

  10. At least I can stand Diamond where as Essence of Me put me to sleep. *yawns*

    Over the Clouds I didn’t like at first but, after I got over the SHOCK, I really like it now.

    PS. I’m doing a J-Pop Artists tourney, Single Elimination style. Stop by my blog and vote if you have the time. ^_^

  11. … Why is it listed my blogspot?!

    It’s http://www.forthefuturety.wordpress.com !

  12. I almost didn’t want to check this single out, but the your review made me change my mind. :) Can’t stop listening to Over the Clouds! It’s so catchy and fiiierce *__* I don’t even remember what Diamond sounds like XD

  13. over the clouds= pure gold compared to the shit avex has been releasing for her recently but they need to get her back in to here ethnic stuff quickly

  14. I totally agree with you. I don’t like the Ayufication of alan, but she’s actually really hot. Anyway, “Diamond” = “M”, no doubt about it. “Over the Clouds” (Ovur da crowds…) was so much better.

    I wouldn’t mind an electro-alan :)

  15. You know, I disagree with all of you people! I think Diamond is a really good Ayumi track! Her voice is so nice… Wait, this is alan…


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.